High Stakes

A Knight and Devlin Thriller, Book 6
Narrated by: Bill Nevitt
Series: Knight and Devlin, Book 6
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Daniel Silva and Steve Berry

An authentic Stradivarius violin turns up in Romania. A Stradivarius is rare enough, but this one is even more special. It is thought to hold the code disclosing the location of a treasure hidden in the 15th century. The violin is steeped in haunting mystique: It is believed to have been hidden by Vlad Dracula, whose historic tyranny led to the fabrication of the myth of vampirism. Russian, Chinese, and Romanian gangs centered in Boston want the code and all of them are hot on the trail.

Violence is their language - brutality, their technique. And who is hired to see that the treasure lands in the rightful place? None other than Michael Knight with a little help from his senior law partner Lex Devlin and his crony, Billy Coyne, Boston’s deputy district attorney.

Michael uses the thin leverage of his knowledge about the violin to keep each of the three gang leaders at bay, while he follows the chain of historic clues from a violin shop in the Carpathian Mountains to a gangster-infested nightclub in Bucharest, to a university in Istanbul, and back to the gang headquarters of the three competing criminal organizations. Secrets from the past and present collide along the perilous shuttle between Boston and Romania. In the end, what is the righteous solution?

©2019 John F Dobbyn (P)2019 John F Dobbyn

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It's OK

The narrator really spoiled the book. His voice made the story seem cartoonish. The story was ok, and had some interesting twists, although a lot of it was totally unbelievable
This book was not for me

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fast-paced action thriller

Michael Knight gets his hands on an ancient violin holding the secret to an ancient treasure. The Russian, Chinese and Romanian gangs are trying to get the violin, and will use any means necessary to get what they want.

This story was fast paced and action packed. John does an excellent job building suspense and excitement throughout while building towards an amazing climax. The plot is cleverly developed and keeps the listener intrigued and on the edge of their seat in the life or death situations Michael ends up in.

Bill narrates with excellent intonation and accents during the story. He is a passionate and energetic performer and i thoroughly enjoyed listening to him.

I highly recommend this brilliant action thriller. Once you start you wont be able to stop!

Note: This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this objective review voluntarily.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting what motivates some men.

This is a story of long lost treasure, men that will do anything for greed and a small minority of people, trying to do the right thing, for themselves, their neighbors and the world at large.
It gives us armchair voyeuristics a look into a world of corruption and coercion, of brutality and thuggery, as well as a world where some strive to do right, even when the odds appears stacked against them.
I applaud the narrator's grasp of languages, as well as different characters vocalizations, which adds that extra dimension to the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Action, Intrigue, Page-turner!

Lots of action in this book! In High Stakes, the sixth Knight and Devlin book, readers find three criminal groups, the Russian mafia, the Chinese tong, and the Romanian mob are all after a valuable item that Michael Knight has come into possession of. How this lawyer outsmarts these groups is very interesting and keeps the pages turning. Will the treasure be found? Who will end up surviving this cat and mouse game? The author definitely knows how to write intrigue! I'm looking forward to reading more in this series. I listened to the audio version of the book and Bill Nevitt does a great job narrating this thriller. I was given a complimentary copy of the book and was not required to write a review. The opinions are my own.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read/listen, excellent narration

High Stakes: A Knight and Devlin Thriller, Book 6, my second read/listen from author John F. Dobbyn. Well-written & enjoyable, I found it very enjoyable. Bill Nevitt’s narration is, as always, excellent and adds greatly to the book’s enjoyment, in fact, it was his excellence in narration that attracted me to this book & this author, and made the 11-hour 13-minute mystery/suspense pass quickly. Now that I've read a John F. Dobbyn book I'll be looking to read more. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reviewing it. (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspense!

action-adventure, thriller, lawyers, the-mob, suspense, international-crime-and-mystery

A real high tension action thriller involving Boston lawyers, the Russian mob, the Chinese mob, and a Stradivarius violin. Fast paced and intense, there's plenty to keep the mind busy. I like the way that Bill Nevitt keeps the suspense up and yet doesn't let it get bogged down in the historical asides.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

High Stakes

Michael is given a all expense get away for him and his wife to Romania all he has to do is pick up a package and bring it back. But when the deaths almost start before he is out of Romania Michael know there is more to this violin than he was told, and back in Boston he is now in the middle of three gangs all wanting and ready to kill for the violin. Now Michael is jet setting all over to figure this case out and to keep himself alive.

I love these Knight and Devlin books they are so full of everything, action, suspense, twists, some history, and even a bit of romance. But to be able to lose myself in the audio like I am there with Michael is priceless and the wonderful narration by Bill Nevitt makes that possible. I can't say enough about how the author and the voice actor have made this series great they go so well together.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely the best audiobook ever?

wow! everything about this book was perfect. the narrator was amazing and what a great storyline!!! lots of intrigue and suspense. kudos to this author and narrator for offering such a great gift. note..... I requested this free copy and am freely offering my unbiased review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Knight and Devlin Story

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This review is for the audio copy of High Stakes, A Knight and Devlin Thriller, Book 6 by John F. Dobbyn and narrated by Bill Nevitt. Michael Knight does not disappoint! Another great story read by a great narrator. Don’t take my word for it, get a copy and read or listen to it yourself! You will not regret it…

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A modern thriller

High Stakes. .
An excellent example of the modern fiction thriller. And suitable for all, with no bad language or graphic violence and no sexual content. It relies on the well written storyline and concept.
Bill Nevitt s style of narration is excellent and makes easy listening.
A 5 star thriller.
I received a free copy of this audio book at my own request and voluntarily leave this honest review. .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joni J Mielke
  • Joni J Mielke
  • 03-26-20

Excellent narration, plot didn't hook me

I was very impressed with Bill Nevitt's narration skills in this audiobook production. He's great with accents and modulating the pitch of his voice to accommodate and match the expression and emotion a particular character is trying to convey. The characters' voices are well differentiated, too.

Unfortunately, even Bill's excellent work did not make up for the - at times - bad writing and clumsy expressions. I was also confused by the story, and was not gripped by it the way I have been with the previous instalment of this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 02-11-20

“I’m a lawyer, we avoid danger like the plague”

Thoroughly enjoyed. Just as good as the last book, if not better!
Ok, so I managed to guess a couple of the twists at the end but this didn’t reduce any enjoyment.
Bill has just the perfect voice to go with this book, has great pacing and is able to portray the emergency of the situation brilliantly!
Really hope there’s more to come!
This is my honest opinion of a free review copy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lindsay
  • Lindsay
  • 01-17-20

Trilling dark story

Wow seriously I probably would not have normally picked this audio but as it was narrated by the amazing Bill Nevitt I thought I would give it ago. This book is exciting and scary in equal measure as there are violent forces at work who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a violin with a hidden secret dating back to Vlad Dracula. Whilst Michael Knight tries everything to work out the secret code without getting killed we are taking on a crazy and dangerous journey that does not stop until the very last word.