• Hear No Evil

  • Hidden Norfolk, Book 5
  • By: J M Dalgliesh
  • Narrated by: Greg Patmore
  • Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (86 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for the Kindle Storyteller Award 2020.

When the bonds of brotherhood are strained, who do you turn to?

The celebration of the Viking Festival of Scira ensures that thousands descend annually on the small coastal town of Sheringham, but when one man dies amidst the grand finale, it falls to DI Tom Janssen and his team to identify who the victim was and how he met such a grisly end.

The victim was a local man, successful, hard working, and well respected. A motive proves to be elusive. As the case progresses it becomes evident that not all is at it seems. Those within the victim's trusted circle appear unable, or unwilling, to aid the investigation. Someone has a grudge...one strong enough to willingly send a man to his death in the most brutal, and public, manner.

The answer must lie in the victim's past; a past that sees highly decorated military service. The past shapes our future and the consequences of our actions catch up with us. Those with the darkest secrets...with the most to hide...will face their day of reckoning.

Witnesses, friends, and enemies alike all appear to employ the same old adage; see no evil, hear no evil and speak no evil, but a ruthless killer is on the loose and they want revenge...Janssen and his team must unmask a murderer before they strike again...

Set within the mysterious beauty of coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with moments of humour, one that will keep you guessing until the very end when the final shocking twist is revealed.

Hear No Evil is the fifth novel in a new series of thrillers from Amazon number one best-selling crime writer, JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, and Damien Boyd.

©2020 J M Dalgliesh (P)2021 J M Dalgliesh

What listeners say about Hear No Evil

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series is

I am enjoying this series very much. There is rich character development along side interesting plots. The gentleman presenting the book does a wonderful job of bringing the story to life.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Book 5 in the series

Book #5. Still a good series. However, I found this one confusing with many characters (all suspects) but still well written. The audiobook narration was also well done. There was less of Tom’s and his team’s personal lives so that it seemed a bit colder, grittier than the previous books. The premise of a group of soldiers being targeted for murder forms the basis of this book and it’s what Tom and company have to delve into.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldn't find any enthusiasm for this one

The action was overdone and repetitive. Introducing a new character is always tricky; but making an established one almost disappear is just silly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good to see them back

it's hard waiting for the next book on a week loved series. glad one was available!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-12-21

Another great crime thriller

I just love reading/listening the DI Tom Janssen series. The stories are always great, the narration is spot on and I enjoy finding out how you develop the main characters as the series continues.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff Ingham
  • Jeff Ingham
  • 11-26-21

Not the usual standard

I enjoyed this title but found the plot not up to the standard that I've come to expect. Maybe because the plot has been told a hundred times before and is grown a bit tired. The narration is as good as ever, Greg has a unique style which I find pleasing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mimosa
  • Mimosa
  • 06-27-21

One of the best Hidden Norfolk stories

Under the most comfortable holiday and farming locations in England there runs a hidden life source which none of us wants to see! This is what the Hidden Norfolk series brings to us, but this book, Hear No Evil, investigates further into the global hidden nightmares of former defence forces' personnel, influencing their seemingly ordinary lives. A great multi-thread plot with an unexpected ending!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 06-17-21

Narrator Greg A 1

I really wanted to love this but either I need to move on to a different series or it’s too slow. I will listen to the next one and see how I go. It’s one of the best police series and it’s well written.

.