Your audiobook is waiting…

Golden Lion

A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War
Narrated by: Sean Barrett
Series: Courtney, Book 14
Length: 12 hrs and 33 mins
4 out of 5 stars (234 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Game of Thrones, Ken Follett, and Clive Cussler: an epic adventure spanning land and sea...time and distance...courage, revenge, and everything in between.

He saw his father executed in battle. He spent his youth avenging that death. And now Henry "Hal" Courtney is a man with a ship - and a family - of his own.

But fate has not finished with Hal. On a voyage along the eastern shore of Africa, a powerful enemy abducts his wife, the fearless warrior Judith...and with her Hal's unborn child. For Hal, a man all too familiar with loss, there is only one way forward: He must track his nemesis across desert and ocean, through the slave markets of Zanzibar and the dangerous waters of the coast, in pursuit of the woman he loves, the child he sired, and the glorious destiny that awaits him.

Bursting with action and suspense, heroism and heartache, this unforgettable novel proves once more that Wilbur Smith is the world's greatest adventure writer.

©2015 Wilbur Smith (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marco
  • Johannesburg, South Africa
  • 07-12-16

gripping story

loved the story gripping to the end. great adventure story and awesome charetors. really enjoyed listening to the audio book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not the best Wilbur Smith.

Never the less it is still a good adventure story. Relaxing and helps pass the time while driving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Started strong

I was really excited about this one at first, believable characters, good adventure story line, excellent narrator, and then it turned into a typical adventure/romance. Still pretty enjoyable, but nothing that stands out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great adventure book of the sea

Wilbur Smith is one of, if not the, favorite author I read. I owned most of his books. which, while adventurous like Cussler, tend toward the serious. This, the second of the series in chronological order. the story was moving, except the end was too short and it felt as though it was cut off and too simple to.meet a magical word count. Thrre were many loose ends for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent audio book

I loved how the narrator adapted his voice to each character of the book. Each chapter left you wanting to hear more. I was almost sad when the book was finished.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

Sometimes a little farfetched, but I loved it. A page turrner for sure. Characters are well fleshed out, fast paced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Total

Where does Golden Lion rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

If you have read any of his other books, you now how incredible the story telling is. The author is so good, that it is impossible to turn it off and quit for the night.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Instant HBO hit

What did you love best about Golden Lion?

Great story...never a dull moment. Lots of twists; very suspenseful. Wonderful characters you can relate to; even in strange places. The narration was so vivid, I could almost cast the characters in my head for an HBO series. I hope they pick up this book.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Hal Courtney. He was simply a good man...uncomplicated.

Which scene was your favorite?

When Hal's sailors rescued him from the mine fort.

Who was the most memorable character of Golden Lion and why?

Judith Nazeth. The idea of a capable female heroine in those times is very appealing.

Any additional comments?

Loved this book.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as other Wilbur Smith novels

Not much plot- just a lot of pirates fighting! A love story and predictable kidnapping?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful