Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The new American government does everything “for the greater good”. Or, does it?

When Claren Greenwood is identified as an Empath during her aptitude test, she’s offered a rare position among the Peacemakers in her city. Becoming a Peacemaker may finally be Claren’s ticket to a better life, allowing her to overcome a turbulent family history.

But when her brother gets into trouble with the city again, Claren finds herself straddling two worlds - one begging her to work for “the greater good” and the other destroying everything she thought she understood about life in the city. Claren must discover what’s true and what’s a lie in order to save her brother. And she must do it without losing the trust of either side.

Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games will love this new series by debut author AR Colbert. With political intrigue, espionage, and little romance along the way, this series has it all. Prepare to get hooked!

©2020 AR Colbert (P)2020 AR Colbert

What listeners say about From the Dust: A Dystopian Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Listen

Wow! There was a lot going on in this book. You are in a totally different society from what we live in and it is a little scary. They choose your job, your spouse and who lives and dies. Any differing opinion will get you exiled or executed. The main character is having a hard time deciding who’s side she is on and it makes for an interesting story. The author did a good job with the story, I would be interested in reading more. The narrator did a good job with the emotions and nuances of they story. All in all it was a very interesting and entertaining listen. I received a free copy of this audiobook from StoryOrigin for an honest review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great new series

I was super impressed with A.R. Colbert’s first audiobook and can’t wait to listen to the rest of the series when it’s released! First off, the society is amazing. I loved the dystopian setting, and the creativity that Colbert gave to the community and ruling parties. The characters were also really addictive and I can see how many different readers could see pieces of themselves in Claren. I love a strong heroine, and she is very fierce. I can’t wait to watch her develop and grow throughout the series. I also loved the idea of the “empath” and the creativity and uniqueness that the ability brought to the reader or listener. All together the plot was fast moving and addictive, the writing was really engaging and well composed, and the narration was enjoyable. I would definitely recommend!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great tale

The narrator was fantastic at bringing out the characters personalities and told the story well and the authors story is well written and is very well thought out

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Good

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. It was a great kick-off to a new series. And I have a feeling this is going to be a great one! I always enjoy books that look at the What ifs in life. What if our country had gone in a more socialist direction. Sounds good on paper but never really works in practice. Funny, I ended up listening to this on election day... or week...this time. But anyway... The narrator was fantastic. She fit this book perfectly. I definitely can't wait to see what happens in the next book! This audiobook was given to me at my request. I am providing an honest review. Thanx!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh My Goodness, it's Such a Good Series Starter!

So, it's 2:40am and I can honestly say that I couldn't find a good place to stop this one nor did I want to... even knowing I will pay for the lack of sleep. This story really grabs you pretty quickly and the author does a fantastic job of getting you attached to the different characters. Book one is a clean book free of bad language, bedroom scenes and no overly graphic violence so I would feel comfortable with my middle schoolers reading it. This book doesn't leave off on a cliffhanger per say but it definitely leave you wanting book two quickly. This author has created a very interesting and believable socialist/communist society in "New America" that is very eerie, intriguing, and true to human nature... The lie of socialism is that everyone gets the same and will be on the same level is shown so well. I don't want to give anything away so I will keep this short, if you like the dystopian genre then you will love this one! The narrator does a great job and was fun and easy to listen to. —I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great story. I loved the characters. The world building was great. I want to know what’s on the outside of the wall. Hopefully the next book will take us there! Narration by Jennifer Groberg was excellent. Really enjoyed her voice. I did find myself yelling at a Claren not to trust anyone.... she had to learn the hard way. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This book is like a cross between Hunger Games and Maze Runner. But the best of both those worlds. Claren is everything you would expect her to be. Torn between two worlds not knowing which is the right one. Her empathic ability gives her edge but it also gets the better of her. The ending leaves you in a place of wanting. Wanting to know what happens next. I enjoyed reading this book and I look forward to finishing the series. If you liked hunger games and maze runner you will like this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great start to a new dystopian series!

Wow, talk about a story that grabs you and doesn’t let go! I thought I’d listen to a little bit and then take a break to get some stuff done... no way. Once I started listening I was hooked and couldn’t put it down. AR Colbert has done a fantastic job of building this dystopian world. It was reminiscent of the Divergent series, but with its own twists to make it unique. I also love how Claren is a strong female lead. This is definitely a series to jump into. Jennifer Groberg’s performance was fantastic. I almost forgot I was listening to an audiobook. It was like I was watching a movie in my head. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good

I really enjoyed this book. Really good story, great characters and a ton of conflict. Very interesting tho. I will definitely read the next on the series, cant wait to see what happens next. Good narration