Your audiobook is waiting…

For Reasons Unknown

DCI Matilda Darke, Book 1
Narrated by: Stephanie Beattie
Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more....

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine-month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with reopening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their 11-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatised to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more.... 

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The beginning of an excellent British series!

👏Definitely 15 stars! Author Michael Wood and narrator Stephanie Beattie are a perfect duo as they lead us on a cold case investigation. Never a dull moment and surprises all the way through. Character development is so well-done, I can envision each and every one. I’ve already bought the next one in the series, “Outside Looking In” for $7.14, a reasonably priced book, no need to waste a treasured credit (same price for this one one). I can’t say enough about how exceptional this fast-paced and exciting audiobook is; at the top of my vast Audible library list. Kudos to both Wood and Beattie! Please keep writing, Mr. Wood and continue your perfect narration, Ms. Beattie. I recently had been on an Audible loser’s streak with my choices for quite a while and am so relieved and delighted to have found this series. Highly recommended! Buy it. You won’t be sorry.👏

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4

A fine mystery elegantly narrated.
A nice listen to pass a long, hot and humid summer day. The
story weaves through years of
questions until a murderer is finally flushed and truth is shown.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sires
  • Burlington, Ohio
  • 07-03-19

Kind of Medium Sort of Book

I like Stuart MacBride's books where every character is given a distinct personality and even if he tortures his heroes, the plot is amazingly entertaining. But unfortunately this author does not have MacBride's touch. The lead character is Matilde Darke. She has just returned to her Major Incident Team after a unsuccessful kidnapping case, a personal trauma, and a year off to find that her parking spot has been nicked by Acting DCI Hales who had been promoted temporarily into her place while she was recovering. She has a psychologist she doesn't trust, a drinking problem, and boatloads of anxiety. Before she can resume her leadership road she has to review a cold case that occurred 20 years ago when two parents were killed in their own home (about to be demolished) leaving two traumatized sons who grew up separately.

The plot is a bit obvious if you keep an eye out on the clues. I just had to delete a couple of clues that made me roll my eyes. If you like Stuart MacBride or Val McDermid, don't expect to find them here.

Performance isn't really inspiring either. I think that it is mostly supposed to be a Yorkshire accent but I have definitely heard it done better.

I downloaded the second book in the series mainly be cause I listed to the sample which made it sound better than it turned out to be. I'll listen to it a little later, after I've caught up with Harry Bingham's Fiona Griffith series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DCI Darke

I really enjoyed this book. interesting plot, well developed characters, good narration. I'd recommend this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful