We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Shadowy Horses Audiobook

The Shadowy Horses

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A brooding and atmospheric Scottish tale from a RITA and RT Reviewers Choice Award-winning and New York Times and USA Today best-selling author.

The invincible ninth Roman Legion marches from York to fight the Northern tribes, and then vanishes from the pages of history. When Verity Grey goes looking for them, she may find more than she bargained for.

Archaeologist Verity Grey has been drawn to the dark legends of the Scottish Borderlands in search of the truth buried in a rocky field by the sea.

Her eccentric boss has spent his whole life searching for the resting place of the lost Ninth Roman Legion and is convinced he's finally found it - not because of any scientific evidence, but because a local boy has "seen" a Roman soldier walking in the fields, a ghostly sentinel who guards the bodies of his long-dead comrades.

Here on the windswept shores, Verity may find the answer to one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time. Or she may uncover secrets someone buried for a reason.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of mystery, ghosts, and romance from New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

©2009 Susanna Kearsley (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (293 )
5 star
 (143)
4 star
 (107)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (280 )
5 star
 (136)
4 star
 (104)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (281 )
5 star
 (186)
4 star
 (74)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dawn 11-26-16
    Dawn 11-26-16 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kearsley and Armstrong - A winning team!"
    Where does The Shadowy Horses rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I have listened to Rose Garden four times, A Winter Sea three times, and Mariana twice. I know I will listen to The Shadowy Horses just as many times.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Shadowy Horses?

    There were many, but I don't want to mention them as to spoil it for those who haven't yet listened to the book.


    Which character – as performed by Sally Armstrong – was your favorite?

    There were a few, but wee Robbie stole my heart.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Yes - that it was so enjoyable that I didn't want it to end!


    Any additional comments?

    I have tried listening to other books by Susanna Kearsley, but find Katherine Kellgren's voice is not that easy to listen to, and sadly, the next book due out in 2017 is read by Kellgren.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sophia Rose 12-15-16
    Sophia Rose 12-15-16 Member Since 2015

    Reviewer for Delighted Reader Blog

    HELPFUL VOTES
    156
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    132
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow Build Atmospheric Story of Light Rom Susp"

    A Roman Legion that disappeared in history, an intrepid and varied group on an archeological dig, and a shadowy soldier from the past form the grounds for a captivating tale.

    The Shadowy Horses sets up steady, but sure. The reader is introduced to the characters, the setting, and the situation at the same time as the main character, Verity Grey. Verity is a solid thinker and sensible though she has a developed sense of humor. I enjoyed having her tell the story as she observes nuances well. She doesn't easily believe in little Robbie's psychic gift or that there is a ghostly Roman legionnaire, but she does sense the atmosphere around her.

    The minute I knew this was a suspense set up around a historical mystery and archeological dig in Scotland; I had to read it. Kearsley is already a favorite author and I was confident she would deliver on my expectation. The Shadowy Horses had a slow build suspense with romantic elements. It seems to go along with daily life around Rosehill, the dig, and the local village, but always it reveals the puzzle pieces that Verity and the reader catch and work out how they fit.

    There is a large cast of characters surrounding Verity and I enjoyed that some are sources of knowledge while others catch her attention for other reasons. Instead of the presence of her ex-boyfriend adding drama, I found Adrian quite entertaining. Now, David, her romance interest was a great guy and an absolute rock for everyone around him. He is an archeologist and can get wrapped up in his work, but he has a lovely Scottish sense of humor and temperament. He is at the center of things without drawing attention to himself and he doesn't rush things or push Verity when she needs to make up her own mind about things.

    I had my suspicions about matters when it came to the mystery, and I was right, but there were some unexpected twists that led to the exciting climax scene. The psychic and paranormal elements were a nice touch that gave this story a bit of extra magic without overtaking the story itself.

    This was my first encounter with audio narrator, Sally Armstrong. Loved her Scottish, Irish, and English accents along with her command of this large cast of characters. She had a good sense of the author's writing and the tone of the story.

    All in all, this was fantastic. Those who enjoy a lighter romantic suspense with engaging characters and an intriguing atmospheric setting should give this one a try.

    I received a free copy of the story.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate B. 02-07-17
    Kate B. 02-07-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional!"

    Suzanna Kearsley is one of my favorite authors. And this book has become one of my favorites! Her characters are endearing, her storyline is captivating & her historic background is spot on! I loved every minute of this story... and was sad when it ended. Even tho I loved the ending... it was akin to saying goodbye to old friends. I highly recommend !

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lunchbreak podunk, florida 04-18-17
    lunchbreak podunk, florida 04-18-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"

    I absolutely love Susanna Kearsley's moved and Shadowy Horses is my favorite. Ms. Armstrong does a lovely read through.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. J. Zannini Charlotte, NC USA 03-30-17
    P. J. Zannini Charlotte, NC USA 03-30-17 Member Since 2013

    Truthteller

    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    180
    77
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid book if you like the historical with a bit of Gothic"

    As always, well written with good characters (and Robby actually shows up in other books as well), nice story and great Scottish brogues :)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phyllis Clayton, NC, United States 03-05-17
    Phyllis Clayton, NC, United States 03-05-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing. Few stories can hook you in the first paragraph."

    I absolutely loved this book. Recommend it highly if you value a great book. I had goosebumps more than once.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chas solvang, CA, United States 01-27-17
    chas solvang, CA, United States 01-27-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    273
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable Romp"

    Simple, I liked the book a lot. Not pretentious, not to slow, not to much romance, good character development, just enough mystery! Really well written but not to the point that it distracted from the work. Good balance Susanna!. Hook up w/ this work for a good read and meet some interesting concepts and characters. Brilliant narrator by the way, you did not even sense that she was there. Quite a compliment for me. Chuck Solvang, CA
    .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle 07-27-17
    Michelle 07-27-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the accents"

    Love the accents and the description of the bonny Scottish Landscape. Makes the reader dream about Scotland and all the beauty that country offers. It's a novel the reader will get lost in.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Temme Martin 04-29-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful characters"

    A book worth listening to twice to get all the detail in this story within a story. Loved The Winter sea, by Susanna also. That was my first read of her books. The shadowy Horse is different from The Winter Sea. Great read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Peoria, IL, United States 04-23-17
    Kathleen Peoria, IL, United States 04-23-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great story"

    I always love the mix of geography, history, and the present in her books, along with some romance, of course. This book was not my favorite of kearsley's novels. For me, it was missing the suspense and surprise at the end that I usually enjoy; but still, very entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.