Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A brooding and atmospheric Scottish tale from a RITA and RT Reviewers Choice Award-winning and New York Times and USA Today best-selling author.

The invincible ninth Roman Legion marches from York to fight the Northern tribes, and then vanishes from the pages of history. When Verity Grey goes looking for them, she may find more than she bargained for.

Archaeologist Verity Grey has been drawn to the dark legends of the Scottish Borderlands in search of the truth buried in a rocky field by the sea.

Her eccentric boss has spent his whole life searching for the resting place of the lost Ninth Roman Legion and is convinced he's finally found it - not because of any scientific evidence, but because a local boy has "seen" a Roman soldier walking in the fields, a ghostly sentinel who guards the bodies of his long-dead comrades.

Here on the windswept shores, Verity may find the answer to one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time. Or she may uncover secrets someone buried for a reason.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of mystery, ghosts, and romance from New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

©2009 Susanna Kearsley (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Slow Build Atmospheric Story of Light Rom Susp

A Roman Legion that disappeared in history, an intrepid and varied group on an archeological dig, and a shadowy soldier from the past form the grounds for a captivating tale.

The Shadowy Horses sets up steady, but sure. The reader is introduced to the characters, the setting, and the situation at the same time as the main character, Verity Grey. Verity is a solid thinker and sensible though she has a developed sense of humor. I enjoyed having her tell the story as she observes nuances well. She doesn't easily believe in little Robbie's psychic gift or that there is a ghostly Roman legionnaire, but she does sense the atmosphere around her.

The minute I knew this was a suspense set up around a historical mystery and archeological dig in Scotland; I had to read it. Kearsley is already a favorite author and I was confident she would deliver on my expectation. The Shadowy Horses had a slow build suspense with romantic elements. It seems to go along with daily life around Rosehill, the dig, and the local village, but always it reveals the puzzle pieces that Verity and the reader catch and work out how they fit.

There is a large cast of characters surrounding Verity and I enjoyed that some are sources of knowledge while others catch her attention for other reasons. Instead of the presence of her ex-boyfriend adding drama, I found Adrian quite entertaining. Now, David, her romance interest was a great guy and an absolute rock for everyone around him. He is an archeologist and can get wrapped up in his work, but he has a lovely Scottish sense of humor and temperament. He is at the center of things without drawing attention to himself and he doesn't rush things or push Verity when she needs to make up her own mind about things.

I had my suspicions about matters when it came to the mystery, and I was right, but there were some unexpected twists that led to the exciting climax scene. The psychic and paranormal elements were a nice touch that gave this story a bit of extra magic without overtaking the story itself.

This was my first encounter with audio narrator, Sally Armstrong. Loved her Scottish, Irish, and English accents along with her command of this large cast of characters. She had a good sense of the author's writing and the tone of the story.

All in all, this was fantastic. Those who enjoy a lighter romantic suspense with engaging characters and an intriguing atmospheric setting should give this one a try.

I received a free copy of the story.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Kearsley and Armstrong - A winning team!

Where does The Shadowy Horses rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I have listened to Rose Garden four times, A Winter Sea three times, and Mariana twice. I know I will listen to The Shadowy Horses just as many times.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Shadowy Horses?

There were many, but I don't want to mention them as to spoil it for those who haven't yet listened to the book.

Which character – as performed by Sally Armstrong – was your favorite?

There were a few, but wee Robbie stole my heart.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes - that it was so enjoyable that I didn't want it to end!

Any additional comments?

I have tried listening to other books by Susanna Kearsley, but find Katherine Kellgren's voice is not that easy to listen to, and sadly, the next book due out in 2017 is read by Kellgren.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Exceptional!

Suzanna Kearsley is one of my favorite authors. And this book has become one of my favorites! Her characters are endearing, her storyline is captivating & her historic background is spot on! I loved every minute of this story... and was sad when it ended. Even tho I loved the ending... it was akin to saying goodbye to old friends. I highly recommend !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful

I absolutely love Susanna Kearsley's moved and Shadowy Horses is my favorite. Ms. Armstrong does a lovely read through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Solid book if you like the historical with a bit of Gothic

As always, well written with good characters (and Robby actually shows up in other books as well), nice story and great Scottish brogues :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Phyllis
  • Clayton, NC, United States
  • 03-05-17

Amazing. Few stories can hook you in the first paragraph.

I absolutely loved this book. Recommend it highly if you value a great book. I had goosebumps more than once.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • chas
  • solvang, CA, United States
  • 01-27-17

Enjoyable Romp

Simple, I liked the book a lot. Not pretentious, not to slow, not to much romance, good character development, just enough mystery! Really well written but not to the point that it distracted from the work. Good balance Susanna!. Hook up w/ this work for a good read and meet some interesting concepts and characters. Brilliant narrator by the way, you did not even sense that she was there. Quite a compliment for me. Chuck Solvang, CA
.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fun and A Lot About Scotland

I love listening to the language. Scotts it's called, not Scottish. Loved the descriptions of landscapes. Makes me want to visit Scotland.
Great character development, excellent reader for all the voices. Just a hint of a ghost, a child with sixth sense who can see him. Archeology, some history. For me, a fun listening experience. Worth a second listen at another time.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I Demand a Sequel ... or Seven

The writing is superb. The narration is superb. Every character necessary. Please, M’am, may I have some more?...

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful

I really enjoy Ms Kearsley's books & Ms Armstrong's reading style. The story is woven very well. I especially enjoy that I am able to listen to it in front of my family without being concerned with language or intense love scenes.