We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (514 )
5 star
 (273)
4 star
 (178)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (476 )
5 star
 (240)
4 star
 (168)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.6 (474 )
5 star
 (310)
4 star
 (130)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Jack Russell s in France
    12/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent, could not stop listening"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    In a couple of years time, perhaps I normally only listen once.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    there were many, I did not know who the murderer was until the end, unlike other books


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Yes, I listened to the second one in this series before this one, which was a little mistake, but his story telling accents etc first class


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes, but unfortunately not possible


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Katie
    Newton Abbot, Devon, United Kingdom
    11/25/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "just great stuff"

    well written with some great twists and loveable characters. very well preformed, even the female characters!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • moreredwine
    Hampshire UK
    11/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The characters keep evolving and surprising you"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    I don't know if it's better than the print version, but Robert Glenister pulls off the accents and characters brilliantly


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    One of the most memorable moments is when Robyn surprises Strike and the reader with her skills - can't say any more without a spoiler


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    brilliant accents and characters


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    yes couldn't put it down


    Any additional comments?

    Gripping mystery from start to finish - one of the best books I've listened to on audible

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Emma Christie
    11/22/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Absolutely loved it. Not my normal type of book but I was gripped right from the start

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • D. Lockhart
    UK
    11/21/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Expectations exceeded"

    Great whodunnit. Great leading character. Absorbing plot. The absurdities of the fashion world in all it's glory. Snobbery and prejudice at odds with decency and truthfulness. A memorable private eye and his temp sidekick entertain at every turn. Dazzling writing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs mmc
    11/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ace."

    Loved it. You've got to keep up, mind!! There are no trivial bits to the story so focus!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bennisu
    11/19/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great stuff"

    The characters were really well developed and the plot thickened as it developed. Very enjoyable but quite a lot of swearing but I suppose that is realistic.
    Great descriptive elements so easy to follow and imagine. Look forward to listening or reading the next one 👍

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • SCS
    UK
    11/19/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "At the end I questioned why I had stuck with it?"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The end was disappointing and made me feel I had wasted a lot of time listening to it.


    Has The Cuckoo's Calling put you off other books in this genre?

    No but I don't think I will be trying another by this authour in this genre.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    The reader did an excelent job which was why I stuck it out until the end of the book.


    If this book were a film would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    I bought this book due to the hype of who the real authour is. I wish I hadn't bothered now and used my money for a different book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • JOHN
    County Cork, Ireland
    11/17/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Story/Brilliant Narration"

    I'm glad I didn't buy the hard-copy or Kindle version of this novel because if I had, I would have missed out on one of the best narrated books I've heard. Robert Glenister does a superb job in bringing the characters to life and it makes for a thoroughly enjoyable experience. (His voicing of a drunk Cormoran in conversation with his secretary Robin is particularly good.)

    I have never read any of J.K.Rowling's "Harry Potter" books (Robert Galbraith is J.K. Rowling's pseudonym) and I have an aversion to the whole Potter phenomenon. I approached this novel therefore with a certain trepidation lest some of her Potter whimsy might find its way into it. I need not have worried. It is a thoroughly robust and grounded whodunnit with a good,engaging storyline and very believable characters. The main man, Cormoran Strike, is a wonderful creation.

    The dialogue is decidedly salty at times but it is all the more authentic for it. The book is very well written and plotted and I would highly recommend it to crime novel fans. I look forward to downloading the other two books in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • gillian
    Folkestone, United Kingdom
    11/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    The descriptive narrative is relevant and brings the story to life without being long and boring. I was telling my daughter how I had found a new author & was really impressed by the structure and crafting of the plot. She then told me Galbraith is actually JK Rowling so no wonder! Great read, well read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.