Regular price: $31.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Nico Storm and his father, Willem, drive a truck filled with essential supplies through a desolate land. They are among the few in the world, as far as they know, to have survived a devastating virus that has swept over the planet. Their lives turned upside down, Nico realizes that his superb marksmanship and cool head mean he is destined to be his father's protector, even though he is still only a boy.

Willem Storm, though not a fighter, is both a thinker and a leader, a wise and compassionate man with a vision for a new community that survivors will rebuild from the ruins. And so Amanzi is founded, drawing Storm's "homeless and tempest-tost" - starting with Melinda Swanevelder, whom they rescue from brutal thugs; Hennie Fly, with his vital Cessna plane; Beryl Fortuin and her ragtag group of orphans; and Domingo, the man with the tattooed hand, whom Nico immediately recognizes as someone you want on your side. And then Sofia Bergman arrives, the most beautiful girl Nico has ever seen, who changes everything.

So the community grows, and with each step forward, as resources increase, so do the challenges they must face - not just from the attacks of biker brigands, but also from within. Nico undergoes an extraordinary rite of passage in this brand new world, testing his loyalty to the limits. Looking back later in life, he recounts the traumatic events that led to the greatest rupture of all - the murder of the person he loves most.

Propulsively listenable, Fever is a gripping epic of humanity striving for a noble vision against its basest impulses.

©2016 Deon Meyer; English translation copyright 2017 by K. L. Seegers (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Exceptional Thriller from a Master Storyteller

Anyone who loves the Scandanavian Mystery/Thriller writers Jussi Adler-Olsen, Arnaldur Indridason, and Jo Nesbo, should add South African Deon Meyer to their list of international authors whose thoroughly engaging stories and flawed, but remarkably likeable characters, make each book a joy to read. All of Mr. Meyer's books, and especially this one, are treasures to be savored and remembered. I've read them all and can't wait for the next one to be published.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just a cut above

Deon Meyers post apocalyptic world in fever just has better developed plot and characters than any other in this genre. I highly recommend this and his other books.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great deon meyer story

Loved the narration by Will Damron.
i have read every book Deon Meyer has written. Fever is truly a big departure from his normal genre, but outstanding. Great character development and story line. Very enjoyable with a good twist at the end.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Fever is a fantastic book with a great story and truly likable characters. Fans of Stephen King's The Stand, Justin Cronin's The Passage, Brett Battles's The Eden Project and Brad Manuel's The Last Tribe will absolutely love Fever.

Will Damron delivers a perfect performance, bringing the world and all its survivors to life with tallent and passion..
I can't recommend this enough! Give it a try, you will not be able to stop listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • MADISON, WI, United States
  • 06-10-18

Extraordinary Story and Characters

This post-apocalyptic story has a unique favor to it compared to most I have read. Mostly due the fact that it takes place in South Africa. The culture of SA, which is new to me, really comes through in Deon Meyer's characters and story-scape. I really latched on to these players and Will Damron really brought them to life. 5 stars all around!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sequel please

Many thanks for an epic tale in every respect! Will was a great reader/performer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful