Dragonfly Summer

Narrated by: Natalie Gold
Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The perfect next listen for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena, Dragonfly Summer is a gripping thriller that asks: What happens when the past comes back to haunt you?

Jo Carter never thought she'd return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she's compelled to find out what really happened. During her investigation, she learns another high school friend has died in a mysterious accident. Nothing is as it seems, and Jo must probe Clear Springs' darkest corners and her own painful and unreliable memories to discover the truth - and save herself from the killer who could still be on the hunt.

Deliciously twisty and suspenseful from the first minute to the last, Dragonfly Summer proves that no small town’s secrets can stay buried for good.

©2019 J.H. Moncrieff (P)2020 Audible Originals, LLC.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Home is not always where the heart is...

This is my first read by J H Moncrieff. It will not be my last! This is a very well written book with believable characters and a great plot.
Jo Carter left home and swore to never return. She hated her father and the small town she grew up in. Her dreams for her future were in NYC. Although never realized, she finds herself drawn back to her hometown over 20 years later. As a teenager Jo had two best friends. One disappeared during their senior year of high school. The other recently died in a suspicious car accident. She had been receiving letters encouraging her to look for their missing friend (Sam) and she was afraid someone was going to kill her. Now Jo is getting the same letters and a dragonfly pendant belonging to Sam. She’s also been getting threats and someone tried to run her off the road. Is Sam dead or alive? Jo needs to find out one way or another and doesn’t know who she can trust after all these years. I enjoyed the entire book up until the last 1/2 hour when it dove into the paranormal. But overall good story.
Natalie Gold does an excellent job narrating.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You Can’t Go Home

They say you can’t go home but that’s not always true. It’s just sometimes not recommended, depending on what you left behind at home and what parts of your past will be there to greet you. This book was full of aching history, mysteries galore and many lives impacted by a singular tragedy that took place years ago. The narration was impeccable, and the narrator managed to convey emotion and varying voices in a subtle and brilliant way. It gave personality and faces to the characters. I’m a fan of Moncrieff already but this shows how diverse her talent is and how capable she is of writing deeply emotional stories that seep inside your bones.

2 people found this helpful