Your audiobook is waiting…

Devil's Lair

Narrated by: Fiona Macleod
Length: 13 hrs and 56 mins

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Dark Lake and The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense novel set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from best-selling author Sarah Barrie. 

A lonely widow, a sinister act, a remote mansion with a dark past....

After the violent death of her husband, Callie Jones retreats to a cottage in the grounds of an old mansion in Tasmania. The relative remoteness of the place and the wild beauty of the Tasmanian landscape are a balm to her shattered nerves, and the locals seem friendly, particularly horseman Connor Atherton and his siblings at the nearby property, Calico Lodge.

But all is not well: The old mansion has a sinister past, one associated with witchcraft and murder. As Callie is threatened by odd events in the night and strange dreams overtake her sleep, she begins to doubt her own sanity. What's really going on beneath the surface of this apparently peaceful town? Are her friends and neighbours really who they seem? As events escalate, Callie starts to realise that the mansion may hold the key to unlocking the mystery, but the truth might have as much power to destroy as it does to save.

"Utterly addictive suspense and riveting storytelling set in a darkly gothic Tasmania." (best-selling author of The Dark Lake, Sarah Bailey)

©2019 Sarah Barrie (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-01-19

Mills and Boon with satanists

Awful drivel , didn’t make it to the end. ( but I know who did it )
Did make me laugh out loud at times due to the sheer ridiculousness of it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 07-14-19

Great Story, Spoiled by the Narrator

I loved this story and Sarah Barrie’s writing but for me, I was so confused as to how the audiobook could have been released with the disjointed narration. Its listening to a shopping list being read. The narrator adds full stops midway through sentences and puts emphasis on the wrong words. It sounds as if the narrator is reading the novel for the first time distractedly whilst following her favourite Netflix drama on silent. It was so disappointing