• Death on a Winter's Day

  • A Totally Addictive Cozy Murder Mystery (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 8)
  • By: Verity Bright
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (322 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Christmas at the castle with holly, handmade gifts, snowflakes and...is that a body under the tree? Someone call Lady Swift!

Winter, 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift, amateur sleuth and reluctant lady of the manor, has been invited to spend Christmas in Scotland, at the beautiful castle of her dear friends Baron and Baroness Ashley. Even her favorite companion, master of mischief Gladstone the bulldog, is coming along to share a slice of turkey. As snow begins to fall outside, the rather mismatched group are cozy by the roaring fire, sharing a tipple over a plate of Mrs. Trotman’s famous mince pies.

But after what was supposed to be a fun party game, Mr. Eugene Randall is found dead at the feast. A somewhat unpopular business associate of the Baron’s from across the pond, it seems Mr. Randall has certainly upset somebody. Was it what he said about Scottish whisky?

The killer must be in the castle...and when the Baron is arrested, Baroness Ashley begs Eleanor to investigate. Determined not to let her friend down, Eleanor sets about questioning the remaining partygoers.

All too swiftly, someone else is found dead, having apparently fallen from a high balcony. As if one murder wasn’t enough to put a twist in the tinsel! Eleanor knows she’s skating on thin ice now. And when she discovers a hidden document that points the finger of suspicion at the unlikeliest of suspects, she realizes there’s more to the story. Can Eleanor catch the killer before it’s time for Christmas dinner?

The perfect cozy mystery to curl up with this winter! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey, and Lee Strauss are in for a festive treat.

©2021 Verity Bright (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"What a great cozy mystery! I am hooked! This is the best book, bar none, that I have read this year.... An extremely witty, fast-paced mystery.... I love the heroine, intrepid adventuress.... A most enjoyable read!" (Reviews by Carol in Tallahassee)

"What a wild ride it is!… Gripping.... This book is what would happen if Downton Abbey and Agatha Christie had a baby. Fun, fast-paced read with lots of charm!" (The Literary Wife)

"I was literally on the edge of my seat until the last page trying to figure out the mystery. It’s an adorable, captivating book." (Washington Life Magazine)

What listeners say about Death on a Winter's Day

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    276
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    263
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    248
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KA
  • 11-28-21

And the killer is...

not who I thought. As always a joy to listen to & always wanting more.
I love Karen's pleasant narration which is so easy to listen to. I love the characters &master Gladston. Thank you Ms. Bright.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific Storyline

Always enjoy the adventures (misadventures?) of Verity Bright's characters. Is romance far behind? I think it is coming closer?!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

unbelievably wonderful ongoing story!

can't wait for the next.... and the next.. and the next! So well done that it is indescribable in mere words!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More Please

We love these characters. Can't wait for the next advertenture. Hope it will be soon

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional

I've enjoyed all of Eleanor's adventures but this latest installment is my new favorite. The narrator is excellent and I can't wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely positively love this series

I absolutely love this series and I’m so sad when I come to the last page. Hoping for the next book to come soon. One of the best I’ve ever read. Can’t wait

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent!

Ms. Bright knows how wrap up all your senses and take them on a glorious ride. Adventure, humor, and heartfelt triumph over the bumpier rides on which life will take you; this book delivers. The whole series is worth a re-"read"! And the performance by Ms. Cass is flawless! I'll never be able to imagine Eleanor with any other voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love This Series

This is a great series and I love it! Hope there will be more in future!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Frequently user
  • Frequently user
  • 07-11-22

Twists and turns everywhere

Excellent writing and turning each clue upside down enjoyable to the last page. more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-07-22

Love this series!

A must read for all cosy mystery fans! All the characters are loveable, the storyline was exciting and the performance are great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter Palmer.
  • Peter Palmer.
  • 05-02-22

Twists, turns and shocks.

The tale builds towards a climax that will have you on the edge of your seat.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret little
  • Margaret little
  • 03-07-22

Excellent

Loved it , excellent narrator, can't wait for the next instalment ,love all the books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-15-21

loved this

I've enjoyed all her books .This one has lots of exciting bits in it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eira Jones
  • Eira Jones
  • 12-13-21

Warmth in the Snow

Loved this, the Selkie the ending and can’t wait for the next book Verity it was brilliant they keep getting better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Mac
  • Mrs Mac
  • 12-11-21

Fabulous narration

I love these stories. They can make me laugh out loud. The narrator is excellent and really makes the characters come to life. The story keeps up a good pace. There is no bad language or violence. I would recommend this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shell Barrett
  • Shell Barrett
  • 12-01-21

Another Brilliant Book

Yet again another brilliant book from Verity Bright. Every single one in this series has been brilliant & kept me listening to the next instalment.
Now I've got to wait until the next one comes out.
A very easy listen that keeps you guessing until the end.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. C. Hunt
  • Mrs. C. Hunt
  • 11-25-21

Death in a Winter's Day

This is another sweet mystery, with murder and mayhem along the way, and a bit of romance thrown in at the end. Just Fab. Read brilliantly again by Karen Cass.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. O'Regan
  • V. O'Regan
  • 11-24-21

Wonderful cosy mystery

I just adore this series and inevitably zoom through them on the day of release, A delightful historical cosy that just gets better and better

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-18-22

A Satisfying Story

Loved this adventure by Verity Bright. The addition of Scottish folklore fantasy was fun. The narration is exceptional and always delivers on a feel good ending.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr M McKenna
  • Mr M McKenna
  • 12-30-21

Pretty awful….no idea how this has 5 star reviews

Dull story read in a very boring and monotone manner. I developed no interest in the characters or story - couldn’t care less who dun-nit!Eventually gave up - the sound of the recording was just too annoying. My worst experience to date with audible and I am a big fan.