Your audiobook is waiting…

Dead Man Walking

Narrated by: Paul Thornley
Series: DS Heckenburg, Book 4
Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A killer thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook best seller Paul Finch.

His worst nightmare is back…As a brutal winter takes hold of the Lake District, a prolific serial killer stalks the fells. ‘The Stranger' has returned and for DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg, the signs are all too familiar.

Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, The Stranger murdered his victims in vicious, cold-blooded attacks - and when two young women go missing, Heck fears the worst.

As The Stranger lays siege to a remote community, Heck watches helplessly as the killer plays his cruel game, picking off his victims one by one. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck must play ball…

A spine-chilling thriller, from the #1 ebook best seller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and James Oswald.

©2014 Paul Finch (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Stalkers:

"[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks…definitely a talent to watch." (The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise… it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end." (Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:

"Avon's big star…part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!" (The Bookseller)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adaline
  • Adaline
  • 01-17-15

Excellent

Would you listen to Dead Man Walking again? Why?

I would listen to this again. It was immensely enjoyable. The descriptions made it easy to "see" the scenes. The plot was well thought out and I loved the twist in the tale.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked the characters. They really came to life.

What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

His change of accents for different characters was great. His reading gave atmosphere and improved the book.

Any additional comments?

A great book and worth every cent.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gillian
  • gillian
  • 08-04-15

Thriller with surprises

Good pacey book. Bit grim in places and a little contrived, but on the whole a decent read

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elaine
  • Elaine
  • 01-08-15

What the Heck

Brilliant plot and well written
Narrator great The clipped narration suits the plot lines and the Mark Heck rugged character

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gary
  • gary
  • 12-11-14

Absolutely brilliant

What made the experience of listening to Dead Man Walking the most enjoyable?

From start to to finish it's exciting and stomach churning, what a story.
Very very well written and narrated
It is gripping and keeps you listening, it twists and turns through out, you can't second guess as to what is coming next.
The best audio book I have ever listened to.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julie
  • julie
  • 04-14-15

Another gripping book from the Heck series.

Excellent, pacy read. I thought I had guessed the ending. I had not!
I love how you are kept on the edge of your seat throughout!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Puggle
  • Puggle
  • 04-01-15

Edge of the seat listen

I was taken in by the story and the characters well narrated but I didn't see that coming well done Paul Finch another great book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark Pointer
  • Mark Pointer
  • 12-01-14

Gripping

Although I guessed the identity of "The Stranger" halfway through the story, I loved every minute of this audiobook. At times eerie, at other times chilling and suspenseful, it had everything. I found myself holding my breath on more than one occasion. Try it, you will not regret it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shaun simon
  • shaun simon
  • 05-26-17

Exceeded expectations

before i even started i expected this to be another Heck underworld caper but was a totally fresh story. Thoroughly enjoyed, great plot line and brilliant suspense. recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dolly
  • Dolly
  • 02-28-15

Ever more fantastical

Would you try another book written by Paul Finch or narrated by Paul Thornley?

Probably but each book gets more unbelievable
It's a good job the baddies can't shoot straight

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

No. Very good

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 05-25-19

What a heart thumping roller coaster of a ride

This is such an amazing listen/book
I cannot stress the twists turns and the gasps of “ oh no .. no no “ that escaped from me.
Such an amazing thriller . For me it is the best one so far in this series- and if you’ve not listened/ read previous ones it’s ok, as it does keep you up to speed. I highly recommend this . I could not stop listening- even with head bobbing to chest and eyes closing in the small hours of the morning! And yes Thornley did a brilliant narration as usual.