Regular price: $14.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A killer thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook best seller Paul Finch.

His worst nightmare is back…As a brutal winter takes hold of the Lake District, a prolific serial killer stalks the fells. ‘The Stranger' has returned and for DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg, the signs are all too familiar.

Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, The Stranger murdered his victims in vicious, cold-blooded attacks - and when two young women go missing, Heck fears the worst.

As The Stranger lays siege to a remote community, Heck watches helplessly as the killer plays his cruel game, picking off his victims one by one. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck must play ball…

A spine-chilling thriller, from the #1 ebook best seller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and James Oswald.

©2014 Paul Finch (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Stalkers:

"[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks…definitely a talent to watch." (The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise… it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end." (Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:

"Avon's big star…part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!" (The Bookseller)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Adaline
  • 01-17-15

Excellent

Would you listen to Dead Man Walking again? Why?

I would listen to this again. It was immensely enjoyable. The descriptions made it easy to "see" the scenes. The plot was well thought out and I loved the twist in the tale.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked the characters. They really came to life.

What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

His change of accents for different characters was great. His reading gave atmosphere and improved the book.

Any additional comments?

A great book and worth every cent.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elaine
  • 01-08-15

What the Heck

Brilliant plot and well written
Narrator great The clipped narration suits the plot lines and the Mark Heck rugged character

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gary
  • 12-11-14

Absolutely brilliant

What made the experience of listening to Dead Man Walking the most enjoyable?

From start to to finish it's exciting and stomach churning, what a story.
Very very well written and narrated
It is gripping and keeps you listening, it twists and turns through out, you can't second guess as to what is coming next.
The best audio book I have ever listened to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gillian
  • 08-04-15

Thriller with surprises

Good pacey book. Bit grim in places and a little contrived, but on the whole a decent read

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • julie
  • 04-14-15

Another gripping book from the Heck series.

Excellent, pacy read. I thought I had guessed the ending. I had not!
I love how you are kept on the edge of your seat throughout!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Puggle
  • 04-01-15

Edge of the seat listen

I was taken in by the story and the characters well narrated but I didn't see that coming well done Paul Finch another great book

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark Pointer
  • 12-01-14

Gripping

Although I guessed the identity of "The Stranger" halfway through the story, I loved every minute of this audiobook. At times eerie, at other times chilling and suspenseful, it had everything. I found myself holding my breath on more than one occasion. Try it, you will not regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • shaun simon
  • 05-26-17

Exceeded expectations

before i even started i expected this to be another Heck underworld caper but was a totally fresh story. Thoroughly enjoyed, great plot line and brilliant suspense. recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Dolly
  • 02-28-15

Ever more fantastical

Would you try another book written by Paul Finch or narrated by Paul Thornley?

Probably but each book gets more unbelievable
It's a good job the baddies can't shoot straight

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

No. Very good

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nigel Ayres
  • 01-21-18

Fantastic

Yet another fantastic Mark Heckenburg story, read brilliantly by Paul Thornley as ever.

The tension created within a fog bound fell is expertly exploited.

Paul Thornley's characterisations are delivered with his usual massive range.