Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Darling Rose Gold  By  cover art

Darling Rose Gold

By: Stephanie Wrobel
Narrated by: Megan Dodds, Jill Winternitz
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.00

Buy for $18.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The USA Today and Edgar Award Nominated Best Seller

"If you enjoyed The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, read Darling Rose Gold." (Washington Post)

“Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction.” (Lee Child)

A most anticipated book of 2020 by Newsweek Marie Claire ∙ Bustle ∙ ShondalandPopSugar ∙ Woman’s Day ∙ Good Housekeeping ∙ BookRiot ∙ She Reads

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive.

For the first 18 years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold.

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar.

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere to go and begs her daughter to take her in. The entire community is shocked when Rose Gold says yes.

Patty insists all she wants is to reconcile their differences. She says she's forgiven Rose Gold for turning her in and testifying against her. But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty Watts always settles a score.

Unfortunately for Patty, Rose Gold is no longer her weak little darling...

And she's waited such a long time for her mother to come home.

“Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious” (J. P. Delaney, New York Times best-selling author of The Girl Before)

“One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut” (Samantha Downing, USA Today best-selling author of My Lovely Wife)

©2020 Stephanie Wrobel (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

One of...

Newsweek’s 20 Most Anticipated Books of 2020
Marie Claire's Best Books by Women in 2020
Washington Post's what to read in 2020 based on the books you loved in 2019
Woman’s Day Best Fiction Books Coming Out in 2020
Bustle’s 20 Must-Read Books of 2020
PopSugar’s 41 Books Coming Out in 2020 that Need to Be on Your TBR Now
Goodhousekeeping.com's The 20 best books of 2020 to add to your reading list ASAP

"Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train...set to be next year's biggest thriller." (Stylist)

Darling Rose Gold is an absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it." (Lisa Jewell, New York Times best-selling author of The Family Upstairs)

Editor's Pick

Mommy dearest?
"Mother-daughter relationships rarely get more complicated than that of Patty and Rose Gold Watts. Patty went to prison for spending decades making her daughter ill in a case of Munchausen by proxy, yet Rose Gold, who testified against her mother, picks up Patty upon her release five years later and takes her home. What ensues is a masterclass in manipulation, psychological damage, and pure old vengeance. It’s a fun, wild ride with Megan Dodds and Jill Winternitz as our narrator guides, each embodying these two women and immersing us in this complex thriller."
Abby W., Audible Editor