Conviction

Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (4,451 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK

"Get cozy because you won't be able to put this one down! Our final Reese’s Book Club pick of 2019 is the thrilling murder-mystery Conviction by Denise Mina. This story combines suspense, international intrigue, and the murder of an entire family aboard a ship...following the one woman who may just have all the answers." (Reese Witherspoon) 

The captivating, utterly unforgettable thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone.

Reeling, desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own - a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But this case actually is Anna's problem. She knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened.

Then an unexpected visitor arrives on her front stoop, a meddling neighbor intervenes, and life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened - and in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, she goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

©2019 Denise Mina (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Mina's latest thriller is a spellbinding listen featuring a superbly talented narrator. Cathleen McCarron expertly portrays numerous characters spanning several ages, accents, genders, and emotions. She particularly shines as protagonist Anna McDonald.... Anna is a quirky, compelling heroine, and McCarron is a narrative force." (AudioFile magazine)

"Such a delight: playful, fast-paced, and entirely compulsive." (Ann Cleeves, author of the best-selling Shetland series) 

"Denise Mina brilliantly manages to be funny, heart-wrenching, gut-punching and addictive all at once: A fabulous, captivating novel." (Nicci French, author of the international best seller Day of the Dead

"Spellbinding.... A metafictional marvel that both endorses and exemplifies the power of storytelling." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

What listeners say about Conviction

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,278
  • 4 Stars
    1,211
  • 3 Stars
    635
  • 2 Stars
    212
  • 1 Stars
    115
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,756
  • 4 Stars
    834
  • 3 Stars
    295
  • 2 Stars
    87
  • 1 Stars
    58
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,965
  • 4 Stars
    1,107
  • 3 Stars
    593
  • 2 Stars
    215
  • 1 Stars
    142

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Excellent all-around & AMAZING narrator!!

This is one of those books that is so good in every aspect that I feel the need to go back and re-rate past books I’ve rated as 5 stars to 4 or even 3 (author-wise and narration-wise). Logistically, this book is so complicated, interwoven, detailed and descriptive that it might seem impossible to execute in general let alone as excellently as Denise Mina so capably did. I’m so in awe of how she told this tale, it’s almost like she took an amazing movie that is so cinematically and visually impressive and then somehow turned it into a book as equally impressive through sheer storytelling — and without compromise. Everything was beyond great: character development, pacing, unfolding of twists and turns. In the very, very beginning I really couldn’t see how anything that was being introduced could possibly make any interesting sense at all or if it did, how it would even be appealing, but obviously, it all did and superbly so. Lastly, wow, most definitely the best narration I’ve heard, Cathleen McCarron literally did dozens of accents, ages, emotions, and genders so perfectly and believable without being offensive or overly dramatic. Bravo, I highly recommend this book.

70 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A hot mess

At the beginning, I really liked this book. I enjoyed the lead character, and sympathised with her history and life. I also liked the way that the podcast was so seamlessly integrated into the story. But when the travelling begins, I just couldn't get over the omissions and illogical events. The author, IMO, is trying to push too many hot button issues at one time, and they just get lost in a massive tumble against each other. So promising, but ultimately totally disappointing.

51 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mixed bag

Interesting plot-centered psychological thriller, but with a—spoiler alert—syrupy, formulaic Scooby-Doo ending.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not at all what I expected

I read the reviews before I purchased this book and I knew that it was different than her other books but I had no idea that my opinion would be so different than most of the other readers. I really did not like the narrator and initially I found the book somewhat boring but I soldiered on until it turned to the podcast and then I really couldn’t stand it. I tried to listen three separate times but I never changed my mind. I can’t recommend this book but others have found it interesting.

89 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Annoying

No thank you. Too much annoying twist to care. I will stay away from Reese Witherspoon reading list.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book!

Reese picked another winner! Loved this book. Highly recommend! It kept me wanting to find out more. I was surprised by the ending. And I enjoyed listening to this book!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • BK
  • 08-29-19

lots of fun

An engaging story with a memorable protagonist, and a helluva of narrator! Listen, be entertained, and let the real world slide for a while. It'll still be there when you're done.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The first of hers I didn't like

When I completely despise the main character I can't finish a book. Whiny, annoying, and grating, so unlike all the other characters Ms. Mina writes about--the only book of hers I couldn't stand or finish--looking forward to the next. Hoping for better.

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent but not great

Lots of fun bits and a feisty heroine hampered by a sketchy plot. None of the villains actions made sense to me.

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3

This is sadly not one of Denise Mina's best mysteries. I've enjoyed her earlier works so much. Is there such as a thing as a good author and a disappointing reader? What I find long and hopelessly convoluted another reader may enjoy as a 5. I will read other reviews as they appear.

26 people found this helpful