Your audiobook is waiting…

Conviction

Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (161 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The captivating, utterly unforgettable thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone.

Reeling, desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own - a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But this case actually is Anna's problem. She knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened.

Then an unexpected visitor arrives on her front stoop, a meddling neighbor intervenes, and life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened - and in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, she goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

©2019 Denise Mina (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Such a delight: playful, fast-paced, and entirely compulsive." (Ann Cleeves, author of the best-selling Shetland series)

"Denise Mina brilliantly manages to be funny, heart-wrenching, gut-punching and addictive all at once: A fabulous, captivating novel." (Nicci French, author of the international best seller Day of the Dead)

"Spellbinding.... A metafictional marvel that both endorses and exemplifies the power of storytelling." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3

This is sadly not one of Denise Mina's best mysteries. I've
enjoyed her earlier works so much. Is there such as a thing as a good author and a disappointing reader? What I find long and hopelessly convoluted another reader may
enjoy as a 5. I will read other reviews as they appear.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As addictive as a good true-crime podcast

What an engrossing guilty pleasure! The reader makes the book come alive; she's delightful. The story is imminently contemporary, and is rounded out beautifully by the well-developed characters and their humanity. I really, really enjoyed this story.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Excellent all-around & AMAZING narrator!!

This is one of those books that is so good in every aspect that I feel the need to go back and re-rate past books I’ve rated as 5 stars to 4 or even 3 (author-wise and narration-wise). Logistically, this book is so complicated, interwoven, detailed and descriptive that it might seem impossible to execute in general let alone as excellently as Denise Mina so capably did. I’m so in awe of how she told this tale, it’s almost like she took an amazing movie that is so cinematically and visually impressive and then somehow turned it into a book as equally impressive through sheer storytelling — and without compromise. Everything was beyond great: character development, pacing, unfolding of twists and turns. In the very, very beginning I really couldn’t see how anything that was being introduced could possibly make any interesting sense at all or if it did, how it would even be appealing, but obviously, it all did and superbly so. Lastly, wow, most definitely the best narration I’ve heard, Cathleen McCarron literally did dozens of accents, ages, emotions, and genders so perfectly and believable without being offensive or overly dramatic. Bravo, I highly recommend this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent but not great

Lots of fun bits and a feisty heroine hampered by a sketchy plot.
None of the villains actions made sense to me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not at all what I expected

I read the reviews before I purchased this book and I knew that it was different than her other books but I had no idea that my opinion would be so different than most of the other readers. I really did not like the narrator and initially I found the book somewhat boring but I soldiered on until it turned to the podcast and then I really couldn’t stand it. I tried to listen three separate times but I never changed my mind. I can’t recommend this book but others have found it interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC!

It has been awhile since I have listened to a book that I could not stop listening to, and this is IT!! PHENOMENAL! The narrator just made this SO much more enjoyable!! She is most definitely my favorite of all time!! Well worth it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Story going nowhere....

Sorry to say I listened to 6 hrs of nothing..... book going nowhere’s???Very very difficult to understand the narrator.... British accent? Heard about book on NPR as a Summer Read?? Gezzzz no thanks !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A complete page turner and a spectacular narrator

"Conviction" had a propulsive rhythm from page one to the end. The story unfolds in delicious layers. Unexpected alliances are formed. The protagonists are both creative and lucky, and, for some of the characters, it's a good story of personal redemption or at least the beginnings of a restart. I was sorry when it ended, and I look forward to her next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jump in! You won’t be sorry!

Denise Mina is wonderful. And this delicious, dark, and ultimately redemptive tale displays her cornucopia of literary talents perhaps better than any previous volume. Brava!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A drakly funny book about serious issues

Bought the book based on npr book review. Great summer book, full of twists and turns, almost addictive. The book is a traditonal mis-matched buddy roadtrip solving crimes, but with updates such as podcasts, live broadcast and twitter.
Most importantly, it is about a strong woman standing up for herself and never giving up.