• Cleopatra and Frankenstein

  • By: Coco Mellors
  • Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
  • Length: 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (300 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Cleopatra and Frankenstein  By  cover art

Cleopatra and Frankenstein

By: Coco Mellors
Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $23.99

Buy for $23.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Bloomsbury presents Cleopatra and Frankenstein by Coco Mellors, read by Kit Griffiths.

For fans of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple’s impulsive marriage.

Twenty-four-year-old British painter Cleo has escaped from England to New York and is still finding her place in the sleepless city when, a few months before her student visa ends, she meets Frank. Twenty years older and a self-made success, Frank’s life is full of all the excesses Cleo’s lacks. He offers her the chance to be happy, the freedom to paint and the opportunity to apply for a green card. But their impulsive marriage irreversibly changes both their lives and the lives of those close to them, in ways they never could’ve predicted.

Each thoroughly enjoyable chapter explores the lives of Cleo, Frank and an unforgettable cast of their closest friends and family as they grow up and grow older. Whether it’s Cleo’s best friend struggling to embrace his gender queerness in the wake of Cleo’s marriage, or Frank’s financially dependent sister arranging sugar daddy dates to support herself after being cut off, or Cleo and Frank themselves as they discover the trials of marriage and mental illness, each character is as absorbing, and painfully relatable, as the last.

As hilarious as it is heart-breaking, entertaining as it is deeply moving, Cleopatra and Frankenstein marks the entry of a brilliant and bold new talent.

©2022 Coco Mellors (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"An irresistible un-put-downable page-turner of a novel. A love letter to New York, a love letter to love, Cleopatra and Frankenstein is a complex, funny, deeply felt, beautifully written debut." (Nathan Englander, author of What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank and Kadish.com)

"Mellors dissects the tumultuous relationship between two magnetic and damaged people...an enticing aura glows at this work’s heart." (Publishers Weekly)