Your audiobook is waiting…

'Broadsword Calling Danny Boy'

Watching 'Where Eagles Dare'
Narrated by: Roy MacMillan
Length: 2 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Geoff Dyer's earlier book on film, Zona, was about Andrei Tarkovsky's Stalker, so it was perhaps inevitable he should next devote his unique critical and stylistic energies to Brian G. Hutton's Where Eagles Dare. A thrilling Alpine adventure starring a magnificent, bleary-eyed Richard Burton and a dynamically lethargic Clint Eastwood, Where Eagles Dare is the apex of 1960s war movies, by turns enjoyable and preposterous.

Broadsword Calling Danny Boy is Geoff Dyer's hilarious tribute to a film he has loved since childhood: It's a scene-by-scene analysis - or should that be send-up? - taking us from it's snowy, Teutonic opening credits to its vertigo-inducing climax.

©2019 Geoff Dyer (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“This is Geoff Dyer's funniest book yet.” (Michael Ondaatje)

“This slim volume is a witty gem of personally inflected film analysis.... [Dyer] shows off an exquisite eye for visual detail.... The book complements a popcorn classic while functioning in quite a different register - in place of grandiose, visceral big-screen thrills, Dyer's fleet work gives off a playful, often funny intellectual high.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Dyer is one of our greatest living critics - not of the arts, but of life itself - and one of our most original writers.” (New York)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • Secaucus, NJ, United States
  • 10-13-19

Bracing Read for Fans of Burton, MacLean, Eastwood

Great, punchy remembrance of an earlier age of action movie, of the action thriller and of England and being at a certain age in a certain age. It's sharp, funny, even catty at times, but it brought me back and brought back detailed scenes from the movie, and a fondness I share with the author of those people, those days and that film.