1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Balance of Magic  By  cover art

Balance of Magic

By: Jeffrey L. Kohanek
Narrated by: Travis Baldree
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ruthless wizards vie for a vacant throne, unaware that their actions could alter the balance of magic and the fate of the Eight Wizardoms.

Lord Taladain is dead, the result of an exotic scheme made possible by the Eye of Obscurance, an amulet so dangerous, simply knowing it exists can bring grave danger. What if the amulet fall into the wrong hands?

With a neighboring wizardom in chaos, Wizard Lord Malvorian seeks to expand his power, capturing prayers meant for another wizard lord and strengthening his magic beyond anything ever recorded. The world will tremble should Malvorian's power rise to that of two gods.

Balance of Magic continues the Fate of Wizardoms saga, an epic fantasy adventure filled with magic, intrigue, schemes, and betrayal, perfect for fans of Wheel of Time or Riyria Chronicles.

©2019 Jeffrey L. Kohanek and Fallbrandt Press (P)2019 Jeffrey L. Kohanek

What listeners say about Balance of Magic

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

buckle up and enjoy the ride!

OMG this book! I absolutely adore this series and this book is even better than the first! I binge listened to the whole thing in a single day. I will say that I had already read it and it took me a little while to get through because it's so detailed and intricate but that allowed me to absorb the storyline and therefore devour the audiobook. The narrator is absolutely perfect and reads it exactly the way I do, maybe even better. I also love that the author added a little entry by Salvon in the beginning giving an update about the last book and warning new readers that there might be spoilers; it's quite considerate to do.
I can't wait for the next book and I'll definitely listen to this again!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good story lots of subplots abrupt ends to most

This is a pretty great fantasy story. It had a good group of heroes. It does a great job at changing perspectives. What it does lack is that it spends lots of tine building things up to anticlimaxes. A rogue who doesn’t like commitment ... found a girl who starts to Change him and prepare him to commit until... he snaps and drags her down instead...
A super powerful foe that can raze cities... until he happens to die almost by accident. So many subplots leave not a lot of time for the actual resolution of each. This is book 2 so I can forgive some lack of resolution, but the resolved plots feel like they resolved hollowly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A true epic adventure!

The characters come alive and the adventure is real! Narration was excellent. Don’t miss this one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good second installment

Not as good ac the first book, but a solid continuation. A number of elements have there feeling of Easter eggs. I'm anxious to continue the saga.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A solid second book.

Listening to this series really made my work days fly by. A fantastic sequel to the first book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

In this book, the balance of magical powers is disturbed. The story of the characters struggling through multiple plot lines is great. The narrator does a fantastic job giving life to the characters!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved Book 2!

I offered to review this audiobook because I am such an an avid reader but also almost exclusively audio due to my schedule. Because of this, and the fact that a bad narrator can destroy a great series, I can be very critical of narrators. Especially when books have a single narrator required to speak with different voices for multiple characters. Most cannot do it without having some errors where they use the wrong 'voice' for the wrong character. Travis Baldree does a great job in narrating all voices this book. It was a very enjoyable listen and I didn't have any issues distinguishing between characters.

As to the story, I am not one to give a lot of specific story details since I feel you should read the story for that. However, I will say that it is book 2 in a historical fiction series where some of the characters have magic. The author has done a great job at continuing this series. It still has great characters that continue to develop and a story line with l twists and turns. You won't be disappointed if you give it a try, but I recommend reading book 1 first!

I received a free review copy of this audiobook and am voluntarily leaving a review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for the next installment!

In this sequel to Eye of Obscurance, the author does a great job at deepening both the plot and characters. The development of the characters was especially good and it kept interested in series. I'm looking forward to the next installment. The narration was also good, bringing the story to life.

I received this free audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Balance of Magic (Fate of Wizardoms #2). my seventh read from author Jeffrey L. Kohanek. Picks up seamlessly from the end of the first book. Well-written with intricately developed characters you can invest heavily in and the storyline with its intricate twists & surprises as the tension & suspense ratchets up throughout the book’s length. 342 pages but reads even longer with the attention to detail written into the story. Kohanek’s fantasy worlds have become one of my favorite fantasy reads. I was impressed and enjoyed the vocal variety & inflections of narrator Travis Baldree. I look forward to reading more in this series. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reviewing it. (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

💜

Perfect follow up to book one. Doesn’t disappoint. Even better than the first. I especially enjoyed the character development.

Great narrator. Excellent performance.

-I received a free review copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.-

1 person found this helpful