Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    69
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a big fan, although the narration its great

Maybe it was the hype to blame, maybe it was my need to have something similar to ACOTAR that I was hoping this book to be 5 stars (It was only 3). Isobel is a skilled painter and she paints portraits of the fair folks. One day she meets the autumn prince, Rook, and she makes a mistake (she paints sorrow in his eyes) and the story starts there…
I will say the book It was well written, and it has some intriguing parts, but the main reason that started all the journey for the characters it does not make real sense to me, and I didn't believe the romance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, great narration

I'm very picky about narration, and Julia Whelan did an excellent job. The story was vivid and engaging, the prose was solid and sound which you don't always get in the fantasy genre. Well done Ms. Rogerson and Ms. Whelan!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book so much

A deeply engrossing fairy tale with lovely prose and interesting characters. I liked how Rogerson didn't shy away from horrifying descriptions of the fae. She made them feel alien to humans and showed how humans would be alien to them. I also liked the descriptions of Isabelle getting lost in her art. The reader did a good job overall, but I didn't like her Rook voice. Since he is a main character, I gave 4 stars instead of 5. Otherwise she did a good job.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Premise... Confusing Romance

Pros: Loved the relationship between humans/fae . This book really creates a convincing reason for why fae love/hate humans. And explores the price of life and immortality beautifully. These themes are wonderful and well explored!!

Cons: the Love interest is... confusing. It basically spends half the book giving examples for why he can’t or should or doesn’t understand love... but he’s also deeply in love with her. Even more than she loves him... but she also loves him too? Honestly, it’s all really confusing. He just feels like a hot vehicle to make excuses for her to explore the themes of the book.

Final: I would still recommend it, especially to people who enjoyed Wintersong