adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Jason Kasper’s American Mercenary series boils with bold action, exotic locales, and spellbinding intrigue.” (Mark Greaney, number one New York Times best-selling author of the Gray Man series)

From former Special Forces officer Jason Kasper comes a gripping set of thrillers for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor. Now an international best seller.

Book 1: Greatest Enemy 

Army Ranger David Rivers enters the covert underworld of ex-special operators for hire. His new team serves a faceless mastermind known as the Handler. But as the stakes continue to rise, he learns that his new employer is more ruthless than anyone he's faced in combat - and he just might be David's greatest enemy. 

Book 2: Offer of Revenge 

David Rivers wants vengeance. But to get it, he must join the secretive organization that slaughtered the only family he had. Sent into battle against a savage force of enemy fighters in Somalia, David realizes that someone inside the organization seems to know his true purpose...and has been waiting for him all along. 

Book 3: Dark Redemption 

The path to revenge leads David Rivers into a labyrinth of twisted loyalties in the violent slums of Rio de Janeiro - where he learns the betrayal of his team was just the beginning. And nothing in David’s murderous past can prepare him for what happens when he finally meets his greatest enemy face-to-face.

Perfect for fans of Mark Greaney, and Brad Taylor.    

©2016-2018 Jason Kasper (P)2018 Jason Kasper

What listeners say about American Mercenary

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

tough start

I had a little trouble with book one it was just so dark but as I finished the book two and three I was very impressed with a storyline well done

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

If you like books that talk about suicide...

At Chapter 16 I'm done.

I can't read this. First of all he killed a guy and as soon as he was through he was going to kill himself then some men offered him a job as an assassin so I thought the suicide was all over with. Which it wasn't. He still thought of suicide and his teammates called him Suicide instead of his name.

In my opinion it could have been a better series. I can't stand all the talk and thoughts of suicide. Sorry, Mr. Kasper.

I doubt there was any sex, I don't know, but the F-bomb was used 194 times.

As for the narration: Adam Gold is a fabulous but even his reading couldn't help this totally depressing book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • PR
  • 11-29-19

Verbose and boring!

Bought this yesterday. After 1 hour deleted it from my player (even though I was stuck in a traffic jam)! VERY wordy, so little story happening, boring. No detail or any plot movement I'm used to in spy/paramilitary action novels (ala Tom Clancy or Steven Konkoly).

Save your money.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

just dont try this one, really bad, suckey even i

truly horrible dont know what led me to this book but somebody marketed a load of crap

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to suspend disbelief.

I listened through all three books and found the main character hard to believe. I kept waiting for his suicidal self-doubt and self-hatred and constant introspection to evolve into something more believable, or at least something more relateable. In addition, he is infused with the unlikely counterpoint, of an unflinching self-confidence. Although not consistent with his negative character aspects, I have to say that element of his character was enjoyable and I admit to being engaged enough to want to know what would happen next and how he'd work through his challenges. As the stories move forward however, he really does not have a good reason to be so self-confident. He doesn't survive because he's the best, but because everyone shooting at him is apparently a terrible shot. In addition, if it weren't for lucky breaks coming out of nowhere in his action scenes he'd have been dead dozens of times over. I don't have any desire to get any more of the books in this series, and from the comments in reviews about the 4th book, I expect the flaws in the first three will not only be continued but made even more annoying than ever.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Zero morality

The author accidentally writes the character as a villain. The character has zero clue of who he is killing and or why with no personal gain outside of his sociopathic need to kill people so he does not kill himself. Even Hannibal Lecter has more morals and relatability than the main character of the story. I was really looking forward to a action-thriller ex-military type story that doesn't involve a Navy SEAL. The search goes on I guess.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not predictable!

Book 1 a bit too dark, but enjoyed 2 & 3. Addicted to thriller audiobooks, myself, & can usually see what’s coming. Not so with this set! Looking forward to checking out the rest of the series . .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gory but good

A little bit gory, but good.
Don’t think any of the books will end with closure.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

If dude-bros' were mercenaries

struggled with the pointless inner dialog.
the character is such an ass. The back story doesn't add up to the complete douche bag David Rivers is in the story. It's maddening. I was hoping he would be killed or kill himself so I wouldn't have to finish.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

too much bad language

Not well written with f bombs throughout. story and character poorly presented. i couldnt finish it. waste of money!