Regular price: $35.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend will love this sophisticated adventure series by the co-creator of the groundbreaking television show Twin Peaks, with its unique combination of mystery, heart-pounding action, and the supernatural. 

After exposing the sinister underground society of students known as the Knights of Charlemagne, Will West stays at the Center over the summer to explore his newly developing physical and mental abilities. Meanwhile, his roommates investigate the Knights' shadowy purpose and discover unsettling information about their own backgrounds. Will and his friends must quickly figure out what's going on and separate friend from foe as they prepare for the coming fight.

©2013 Mark Frost (P)2013 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    111
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Phillip
  • Virginia Beach, VA, United States
  • 03-21-15

Cliff Hanger. Unoriginal setting.

Cliff hangers are noxious. Tolkien's format is better. Frodo is stung by Shelob and is dead. A contemporary cliff hanger would end there. But Tolkien built the suspense as Sam tries to continue the quest and overhears orc soldiers talking. It end's with Frodo captured and Sam covertly infiltrating the enemy stronghold. It ends on hope. The reader is left with hopeful anticipation awaiting the next book. Alliance ends with almost complete defeat.

Secondly, the background is becoming overworked in contemporary novels: the majority of the world is clueless, the world world is in jeopardy and the bad guys are better organized, more persistent, and have greater numbers and resources. Frost's first book was better balanced with small assists from marginal characters like Nondo. Alliance draws too heavily on the strengths of the first book: character development and social interaction. An excellent narrator helps too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • United States
  • 02-20-14

Eh...

Alliance was good, but it's like Mark gave us all the meat and no potatoes. Everything that happened was interesting, but hardly anything actually happened. You just learned a lot about the 5 and then the Knights. But it was also like he just wrote off everybody else from book one. I guess the best way to differentiate between book 1 and 2, is that while 1 dragged on at times, but it carried a lot of weight. While 2 was all excitement, but had no weight to it. I hope 3 is a happy medium.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome in everyway!

le
oved the ending makes for a great setup for the next book Frost has not let me down so far let's hope the ending to the 3rd is solid so far this book and the first get 5 stars I binged listened on my over nights

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding 2nd book in a series

From my point of view, usually second books in a trilogy are like Bridges; getting you from 1 to 3. This, however, was a tour de force in and of itself. In other words I loved it. I just started Rogue and that is a phenomenal start. Rob

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as Book 1 but still worth listening to

Any additional comments?

The author spent way too much time walking through the caverns to find the keys. This seemed to take over 3 hours to complete. Once that was completed the action picked up.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

well written besides for slang and fowl language

Really love the story line and the narrator really brings the characters to life. My only gripe is the fowl language and some dirty inuendo. Not my taste. Fortunately it is not enough to destroy the story but it is certainly on the edge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charles
  • Howard City, MI, United States
  • 03-07-14

good listen

Would you consider the audio edition of Alliance to be better than the print version?

dont know

What did you like best about this story?

good theam i just did not like the way it was ended. left you hanging too much

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

in line with mocking jay and the new one coming out