Regular price: $14.18

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be 75 and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son, Brendan, and his wife, Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store...because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

©2018 Judy Leigh (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting." (Miranda Dickinson)

"Lovely...a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy." (Cathy Hopkins, best-selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List)

"Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life…a wonderful escapade." (Fiona Gibson, best-selling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 08-26-18

Enjoyable, easy read/listen!

Pleasant, easy read. Well drawn characters. Good pace. Excellent narration. Ideal holiday listen or for when something light is needed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joanne Betts
  • 05-06-18

Superb

Loved this book, the narrator is one of my favourites! I did have a foreboding feeling towards the end but I really enjoyed the story & the characters!
It made me smile, laugh out loud! When I hear swearing in an Irish accent somehow it doesn’t sound as offensive & the word Ballocks makes me smile.