We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Unbreakable Audiobook

Unbreakable: A Novel

Regular Price:$10.39
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The colonists of the planet Montana are accustomed to being ignored. Situated in the buffer zone between two rival human empires, their world is a backwater: remote, provincial, independently minded. Even as a provisional member of the Republic of Aligned Worlds, Montana merits little consideration - until it becomes the flashpoint in an impending interstellar war. When pirate raids threaten to destabilize the region, the RAW deploys its mechanized armored infantry to deal with the situation. Leading the assault is Marine Corps Lieutenant and Montanan expatriate Promise Paen of Victor Company. Years earlier, Promise was driven to join the Marines after her father was killed by such a raid. Payback is sweet, but it comes at a tremendous and devastating cost. And Promise is in no way happy to be back on her birthworld, not even when she is hailed as a hero by the planet's populace, including its colorful president. Making matters even worse: Promise is persistently haunted by the voice of her dead mother. Meanwhile, the RAW's most bitter rival, the Lusitanian Empire, has been watching events unfold in the Montana system with interest. Their forces have been awaiting the right moment to gain a beachhead in Republic territory, and with Promise's Marines decimated, they believe the time to strike is now. Unbreakable by W.C. Bauers is character driven, military science fiction at its best.

©2014 William C. Bauers (P)2014 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (84 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.9 (75 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (75 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Terry 02-06-15
    Terry 02-06-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not the SciFi I hoped"

    OK look, it was a good book, but more of a political strategy story than a SciFi futuristic battle that I hoped it would be. If you're into the political strategy behind the war, then this book is for you (at some points, it felt like the author was trying to prove his knowledge of political chess). If you're into futuristic technology and action packed battle, look elsewhere

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tizroc Eugene, OR 01-14-15
    Tizroc Eugene, OR 01-14-15 Member Since 2012

    Passionate lover of literature. Give me a good read and a passionate narrator and my money or credits are yours!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    271
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ours is not to reason why."

    In the fine tradition of the notable heroes of fact and fiction rises the new star Lt. Promise Paen. Part Lewis Burwell "Chesty" Puller, Honor Harrington, Kristine Longknife and Horatio Hornblower and undoubtedly all her own.

    Promise Paen has left her life and her home world behind her in a gamble to gain the expertise necessary wreak bloody vengeance. Instead she finds a home and family in her brother's and sisters in the R.A.W. Marines. No one can run forever, and Lt. Paen has just been called to duty on the one rock in all the 'verse she never wanted to see again.

    A dark shadow has come calling upon her home world and Paen must wage a war both conventional and insurgent to save a world and people she never expected to again lay eyes on. She is headed home. Duty and honor will make her confront all her demons face on.

    W.C. Bauers is not afraid to cut a swath of blood and bodies through his creation like he made a personal bet with George R.R. Martin over body count. Not one death is over done. Every drop of blood sweat and tears draws the story forward to the plot's climax.

    Much like Slim Pickens in Doctor Strangelove I know I am in for the ride of my life, while the sultry tones of Mae West whisper in my ear “Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy ride”.

    The Narrator, Andi Arndt does a brilliant job bringing the characters to life.

    Why are you still reading this review and not listening to the book already?

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike 09-05-16
    mike 09-05-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    118
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    193
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid military SF"

    While this will never be a classic, it is a solid, if predictable entry into the field. After not finishing a number of well reviewed self-published novels it is a relief to finally find a book that wasn't just silly, that played fair with physics, that didn't have crazy packed asteroid fields.

    The plot played fair. No miracles saving everyone when all seemed hopeless. Characters we're decently fleshed out for this type of novel.

    The narrator did an excellent job. Recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-10-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read!"

    Great writer. Could not put it down had to keep on reading . Can not wait for the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew Aird 02-02-15
    Andrew Aird 02-02-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fine debut for fans of MilSciFi."

    Many writers try to be as good as their own favorite authors and genres, but W.C Bauers has succeeded. Fans of Weber, Ringo, Larson, Kratman and so many more will discover that a great new voice has exploded into our midst like a happiness grenade. The only criticism I will mention is that the naval scenes need more detail, but I can easily tell that the author has what it takes to do just that, and more, if he desires. Kudos to you Mr. Bauers!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Douglas Clovis, CA, United States 01-19-15
    Douglas Clovis, CA, United States 01-19-15 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    178
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    35
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really Good Story!"

    This is a classic. It follows all of the classical themes of great space opera fiction. Young female sergeant in the RAW Marines is thrust into unwanted command with a small force against insuperable odds and wins. The story hits all the right buttons for me, just like Weber did with the Honor Harrington stories and Weber and Ringo did decades ago with the We Few series. Some might critique this as cliche, but I like it. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes great space opera/military sci-fi.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.