We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dead Man's Hand Audiobook

Dead Man's Hand: The DI Hal Luchewski Series, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham.

Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay....

When teenager Danny Wiseman’s butchered body is found in a squalid bedsit in South London, Hal and his team think they have a psychopath on the loose. When a second body is found - that of an ex-guard at Granton Young Offender Institution - Hal fears the worst.

Is it a coincidence that Wiseman recently spent time at Granton, a place which has become a byword for corruption and scandal? Is Hal up against a former inmate's wrath or something even more sinister? Soon enough the case gets personal - and in more ways than one....

©2015 Mark Lock (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (7 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.4 (7 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.6 (7 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anna Carcassonne, France 01-25-16
    Anna Carcassonne, France 01-25-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Left me panting for more!"

    Excellent tight, intelligent thriller perfectly read by Paul Thornley.
    Very sympathetic hero whose humanity, strength and frailty make this more than a formulaic read. Fantastic plot that keeps you guessing beautifully written.
    Can't wait for the next one.
    Five Star Plus

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dr. William J. Kass Albuquerque, NM USA 04-12-16
    Dr. William J. Kass Albuquerque, NM USA 04-12-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "more Luchewski series, please"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, the plot is always engaging, sometimes compelling; the character development is solid and leaves one wanting to get to know the main characters better.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Not on the edge of my seat, but kept me awake a half hour longer than I planned to learn an outcome. At the end of the book, the set-up for the next book was clear which is why I hope Audible.com picks it up.


    Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No. I thought he did a great job reading although the shift between voices--generally not accompanied by a chapter change--made me back up the recording several times as I belatedly figured out a different character was talking. To be fair, there are a lot of characters talking.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, I don't think I've yet listened to a book on which I felt compelled to binge.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna 02-02-16
    Donna 02-02-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    164
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    155
    103
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I liked this one"

    As soon as I finished this , I went hunting for another audio by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • caroline
    1/28/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A new twist on a trusted recipe"
    Any additional comments?

    The narrator, Paul Thornley makes any police thriller a wonderful listen. He is a master at this genre and has the accents, the tone and pace absolutely spot on. I think Im a fan Mr Thornley! WIth regards to the new police crime thriller, I have to say a welcome change from the usual Tall Dark and Handsome detective. The book cleverly explores the problems with work and harassment, from ethnicity to outright homophobia. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I liked the main characters, the twists and red herrings. Looking forward to book 2 in this series.

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful
  • Jackie
    3/13/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great first book"

    Amazing can't wait for the next one a new twist, brilliantly read by the wonderful Paul Thornley

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Puggle
    2/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dead mans hand"

    Excellent waiting for next in series well narrated and written one of the best I've listen to in a while

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • J. Morris
    Cumbria UK
    10/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Jesus Kid Jensen!""
    What did you like most about Dead Man's Hand?

    Great story, enjoyed the plot twists and I found it very entertaining


    What did you like best about this story?

    The mix of characters, the plot lines, the whole thing, never had a dull moment.


    Which character – as performed by Paul Thornley – was your favourite?

    I think his performance was spot on. He always does a great job of getting the voice of the characters right, in my opinion. I do hope that if/when Mark Lock writes another that Paul Thornley gets to narrate it too.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There is, for me a very poignant moment when we here the story of the man with the Polaroids.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Jacky
    Brighton, United Kingdom
    6/30/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait to get on to the next book"

    Great story, very good and griping - twists and turns and characters that were believable and well researched. Brilliantly read again by Paul Thornley. The plot jumps and darts around and you do have to concentrate but the overall feeling is a well thought out plot.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    6/25/16
    Overall
    "very enjoyable story"

    I enjoyed every minute of the story looking forward to the next book great read

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Matthew
    5/25/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    I thought it was a great listen and a good solid story. only issue was that there were a lot of characters and it seemed to move around a lot which confused me at times.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • gillian
    Folkestone, United Kingdom
    4/5/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent thriller"

    If this is genuinely Mark Lock's very first book then he needs to get writing! Good believable characters, fast plot without any padding. A bit gruesome in parts but nevertheless very entertaining

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Jeff Sharp
    Holywell, UK
    2/19/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story which gripped me throughout."

    I really liked the story as it put a great twist to the normal killer hunt. I had this on Audible as I do a lot of motorway driving. I really like Paul Thornleys narrative style as, for me he gives the characters a real ID with his accents etc. My one and only criticism would be the editing of the narration as sometimes the story seemed to jump to the next scene without me realizing so I had to do a quick rewind many times to get it clear in my head.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Anne
    Oldham, United Kingdom
    4/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Looking forward to the next one"

    Great first novel. Intriguing plots with lots of twists and turns. Can't wait to get to know more about Hal and what happens next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.