We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Dark Harbor | [David Hosp]

Dark Harbor

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (499 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (234)
3 star
 (86)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (17)
Overall
3.9 (231 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (106)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.2 (229 )
5 star
 (100)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Vincent Fort Myers, FL, USA 08-12-05
    Vincent Fort Myers, FL, USA 08-12-05 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Can't Put it Down!"

    Twists and turns... character development.. plot development.. this book is a must read/listen!! Once I started I couldn't stop!! In the likes of Ken Follett this is excellent! My only disappointment is that there are no more books available on Audible by this Author!!

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eileen Tinley Park, IL, United States 10-19-05
    Eileen Tinley Park, IL, United States 10-19-05 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    288
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    121
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    "Great new author!"

    I know this is the first book written by David Hosp, and I was curious to check it out because of the buzz surrounding it. I wasn't disappointed in the least. The storyline is intriguing and fast-paced, the characters are well-developed, and the narration was great. There is nothing not to like about this book.

    As I was listening to it, there were other more famous authors that came to mind - John Grisham, and believe it or not, Stephen King (mostly for the character development of New Englanders and quite a few mentions of the Red Sox which sounded an awful lot like King). Of course, this is a GOOD thing. Mr. Hosp has a great talent for making his characters real, and in my opinion, that's one of the most important elements of a good story. If you can't relate to, or understand, or believe the characters, then who cares? Not a problem here.

    The story itself is original and a good mystery in its own right. There are no lulls in plot, and you will be hooked quickly. I won't delve into the details because I hate spoilers - but I will say I highly recommend it.

    Jump on the bandwagon and check out this new author. You'll be heading to his website next to see if he's got another one in the works, I promise.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Gaffney, SC, USA 10-18-05
    William Gaffney, SC, USA 10-18-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Worth a Listen"

    I gave this book a three star rating. However, its probably more like three and a half. The story doesn't grab you from the beginning but its interesting enough that you want to stick with the story. I liked the characters but most lacked true depth to their persona. It's a good book to listen to when you don't want to get totally wrapped up into a novel.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe E. Wheaton Columbus, Ohio 08-26-05
    Joe E. Wheaton Columbus, Ohio 08-26-05 Member Since 2002

    Now living in Columbus OH

    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Dark Harbor"

    Generally well written and interesting except the author does what so many mystery writers do when they are stuck (and editors let them do it): they make the character do something that intelligent people would never do if they wanted to live. To what I mean, try this test: You are an attorney accused of murder. You are sitting in your law office holding in your hand the ONLY COPY of evidence that will prove you innocent and convict a mob boss. You know that the mob is after you to get this ONLY COPY of the evidence. You must get it to the police station a few blocks away to deliver the evidence. Do you (a) fax it to the police, (b) make copies and mail them to the police and your attorney (and all your friends, while you're at it), or (c) put the ONLY COPY of the evidence in your pocket and walk to the police station assuming the mob is out there looking for you. If you chose C, this book is for you.

    41 of 44 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dawn Henrico, VA, United States 09-09-05
    Dawn Henrico, VA, United States 09-09-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    178
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    338
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "A Minority Opinion"

    Obviously, a lot of people liked this book and reader. I am not one of them. I failed to find any similarity with the works of John Grisham, John Sandford, or David Baldacci, all of whom I like a great deal. I found character development severly lacking. For a former street thug, Scott is not very street-smart and the author offers very little background to support this past life. The police lieutenant is unprofessional, getting involved personally with Scott right away. Her rank is totally unbelievable given her active role in the investigation and her ineptitude. The plot line was massively predictable and the action just plain dumb; my eyes were dizzy from rolling them so often. The ending was laughable. George Guidall swallowed words and sometimes ends of sentences. He spoke so low he was difficult to hear in all but the quietest setting. This audiobook was, in a word, bad.

    25 of 27 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cora Judd 04-28-09
    Cora Judd 04-28-09 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    432
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    257
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    31
    0
    Overall
    "kinda, sorta...."

    A good enough story but a perfectly repugnant, utterly superfluous torture/murder scene that sticks out in my mind like a very sore thumb as I recall the book. It just didn't ring true and I'm offended as a reader that I was expected to buy in. If you're very discriminating about what goes into your brain, you may want to do a little more research before choosing Dark Harbor.

    Some reviewers claim the outcome was too easily predicted but I was surprised at who the perps were and were not.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Plymouth, MI, USA 10-09-05
    Michael Plymouth, MI, USA 10-09-05 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Riveting"

    Well narrated and captivating. This book is hard to put down. Great plot twists and a strong ending. I really enjoyed this one, and found that I could not tear myself away. Just when I thought I had it figured out, I would find myself surprised.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirk Austin, TX, USA 08-02-05
    Kirk Austin, TX, USA 08-02-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent Balance"

    This was a good listen. The balance of reader, story line, and character development made this an excellent listen. Bravo.

    17 of 21 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 09-21-11
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 09-21-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    244
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not in the same league as Baldacci"

    Boring, trite and luckily was on sale for $4.95. Don't be taken in on the comparison to Baldacci.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jody Polk City, FL, USA 12-09-07
    Jody Polk City, FL, USA 12-09-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Definitely Grisham Caliber"

    I have been searching for new a David Hosp audio book since I read Dark Harbor and am thrilled that he has a new one on Audible now. Can't wait to read it. You will not be disappointed in Dark Harbor. It is at the top of my all time favorite's including Grisham, Patterson, etc.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 34 results PREVIOUS124NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.