We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Bred in the Bone: Jasmine Sharp and Catherine McLeod, Book 3 | [Christopher Brookmyre]

Bred in the Bone: Jasmine Sharp and Catherine McLeod, Book 3

Private investigator Jasmine Sharp's father was murdered before she was born, and her mother went to self-sacrificing lengths in order to shield her from the world in which he moved. Since her mother's death, all she has been able to learn is his first name - and that only through a strange bond she has forged with the man who killed him: Glen Fallan. But when Fallan is arrested for the murder of a criminal her mother knew since childhood, Jasmine is finally forced to enter his domain: A place where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations.
Regular Price:$23.09
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Bred in the Bone is the stunning third novel in Brookmyre’s series featuring private investigator Jasmine Sharp and Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod. Set in the disturbing underworld of Glasgow - a place where countless old scores are still waiting to be settled, and where everyone knows everyone else - Bred in the Bone is a masterful mystery novel that will appeal to fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin.

Private investigator Jasmine Sharp's father was murdered before she was born, and her mother went to self-sacrificing lengths in order to shield her from the world in which he moved. Since her mother's death, all she has been able to learn is his first name - and that only through a strange bond she has forged with the man who killed him: Glen Fallan. But when Fallan is arrested for the murder of a criminal her mother knew since childhood, Jasmine is finally forced to enter his domain: A place where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations.

Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod has one major Glaswegian gangster in the mortuary and another in the cells for killing him - which ought to be cause for celebration. Catherine is not smiling, however. From the moment she discovered a symbol daubed on the victim's head, she has understood that this case is far more dangerous than it appears on the surface, something that could threaten her family and end her career. As one battles her demons and the other chases her ghosts, these two very different detectives will ultimately confront the secrets that have entangled both of their fates since before Jasmine was even born.

©2013 Christopher Brookmyre. Recorded by arrangement with Grove/Atlantic, Inc. (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (24 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (24 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (24 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer East Hartford, CT, United States 07-22-14
    Amazon Customer East Hartford, CT, United States 07-22-14 Member Since 2012

    I don't know about you, but why are there so so so many 5 star reviews. I LOVE books, but so few are 5 star.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    250
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    299
    140
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    18
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I hate when I finish a series"

    Can't wait for another book, great story. Character development continues bringing Catherine a little more personality and depth. Warming her up a little. A little more violence, but still way down for today's standards.

    I don't want to give anything away so I'm not saying much. I like that even though it deals with violence and serious stuff, the story never becomes moody or gloomy. Serious, sometimes a little sad, but also spots of humor, like real life. Not swedish gloom noir.

    I hated to reach the end.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GW 08-28-14
    GW 08-28-14 Member Since 2012

    I enjoy mysteries, science fiction, Stephen King, and some fantasy novels. Now and again I like a biography and a bit of history. No romance!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of my favorite authors!"
    What made the experience of listening to Bred in the Bone the most enjoyable?

    Christopher Brookmyre's characters are never dull. His dialogue is wonderful and I love the little details in his books that make them seem real. He writes normal people in abnormal circumstances flaws and all. Even if the story is a dark one, the wicked sense of humor that this author has always comes through. I laugh out loud when I read his books.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    There are too many great ones in this book to pick just one. Besides, I don't want to give anything away.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me laugh many times. The author has a talent for making people see the amusing side of even the darkest moments.


    Any additional comments?

    I am thrilled that Mr. Brookmyre's books are becoming more available in the US. It was difficult to locate the audiobooks for his earlier works.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JEMME Killeen, TX, United States 02-11-15
    JEMME Killeen, TX, United States 02-11-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Only problem is..."

    I thoroughly enjoy his books, especially read with the Scottish accent, only problem is, he doesn't let the suspense build long enough. No sooner than the main character is put in peril, they are able to escape. This is a let down to readers/listeners since we've invested so much time in the stories! That aside, I love the characters :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanine Johnson 06-29-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow"

    Unfortunately, I was unable to get through this book. I downloaded this one because I had listened and loved another one in the series. This was hard to follow and did not keep my interest.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.