We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Education of Will Audiobook

The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog

Regular Price:$17.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior - gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs - with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn't just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth.

Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young border collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal and along the way learn that willpower by itself is not enough.

Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients' dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.

©2017 Patricia McConnell (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (50 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (45 )
5 star
 (40)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (45 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    chloe De Segonzac 03-13-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A beautiful book"

    A wonderful book about loss, trauma, work and recovery. Both human and dog traumas are discussed with care and gentleness.
    I work with dogs everyday and found this book a great source of help in dealing with dogs with anger, fear and unexplained behaviors. A must read. Chloe

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trishk 03-08-17
    Trishk 03-08-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    75
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A courageous and fascinating book"

    I was spellbound all the way through this book. Patricia McConnell is an excellent writer - she has several other books about dogs - but this is different. This one is not only about the difficulties one of her dogs experienced, it's about her journey, and how she has overcome the effects of trauma on her psyche and life. Truly an excellent memoir. And the narrator is excellent as well.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kthompson1004 03-22-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous book!"

    I have listened to many books and I must say, this one surprised me. I was expecting a sweet dog story, which would have been fine. As a dog lover, I'm fine with hearing a good dog story now and then. But this is so much more! I think I can honestly say this book is going to change my life. This book reveals the author's personal journey through some very difficult situations that, although different from my life, helped me realize that I have some things I need to address from my own past. And the information shared about her dog and the work she has done with other dogs is going to help me tremendously in working with my 2-year old rescue. I am so glad I downloaded this book! The narration is excellent, the story is compelling and the author does an excellent job sharing her life story. I highly recommend this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Thurman 03-19-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Great book. I really enjoyed it. Very honest even when being honest isn't easy. Highly recommended

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Lynn 03-06-17
    J. Lynn 03-06-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A tale of healing and triumph over suffering."

    I have read several of Patricia McConnell's dog training books, and found them to be full of practical advice, with many examples from her long career working with dogs that have behavioral issues. In this book McConnell describes her own journey with her border collie, Will, who has severe anxiety and also sustains serious physical injuries that required many months of rehabilitation and healing. In the course of her treatment plan for Will, Tricia begins to confront some dark and traumatic incidents from her past, and to heal herself in the process.

    The book is written from an honest and cathartic viewpoint. It is encouraging to hear how a renowned expert struggled with her own dog's behavior. I had great sympathy for Tricia's trauma in her past and, as the story unfolded I found myself rooting for both of them. The story is written from the perspective of a survivor, not a victim, and Tricia gives an honest description of what it took to make that transition.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda 03-05-17
    Amanda 03-05-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As always, blown away by McConnell's Words"

    McConnell has never disappointed, her books have always been incredible. Some parts made my heart ache and I admire her bravery for sharing her story to continue helping others. I only wish the book was longer so I could learn more about this inspiring person. Trisha is truly one-of-a-kind.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carlene Roberts 03-02-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely wonderful book!"

    Book was wonderful as was the narration. It helped me greatly with my own past.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Robinson 03-02-17
    H. Robinson 03-02-17

    Compassionate

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better Than I Expected"

    I've loved Patricia McConnell for years and this book only deepened my respect for her. Excellent in every way.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.