We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2231 )
5 star
 (1062)
4 star
 (519)
3 star
 (314)
2 star
 (172)
1 star
 (164)
Overall
3.9 (2061 )
5 star
 (969)
4 star
 (489)
3 star
 (286)
2 star
 (160)
1 star
 (157)
Story
4.1 (2046 )
5 star
 (1108)
4 star
 (416)
3 star
 (222)
2 star
 (123)
1 star
 (177)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Victoria MISSOURI CITY, TX, US 02-25-13
    Victoria MISSOURI CITY, TX, US 02-25-13 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truly Hysterical"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    This story is truly unique and very engaging, once you start listening its very hard to stop.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Edlene B. White Davenport, FL, United States 02-24-13
    Edlene B. White Davenport, FL, United States 02-24-13 Member Since 2011

    I'm a very simple person who love to read or listen to books. My favorite genre is Historical Romance but am willing to spread my wings and fly temporarily over to sample a little young adult adventure or suspense, but I will without fail, return to romance..

    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Do you need to laugh out loud?"

    Let's pretend this never happened...I laughed so much throughout the entire book. Even had to hold my mouth while in the office a couple of times. The deer suit, oh my, even typing that phrase takes me back into Jenny Lawson's world.
    Jenny narrates her own book, too which, I am grateful, because it is her life story. The post it note argument had me in tears of laughter.
    Jenny manage to teach you life lessons through laughter. If you need a good laugh and can handle profanity, then you will enjoy this book. Jenny really does curse a ton and she warns you in the beginning of the book..
    Overall, it is worth the credit. The only bad part...the book ended

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maria 02-19-13
    Maria 02-19-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny!!"
    Any additional comments?

    This book had me laughing out loud! I found it so funny that I took it with me and let my clients listen to it while they were working out. Highly recommend, especially if you've ever lived in Texas.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jules 02-15-13
    Jules 02-15-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Becareful Where You Read This"

    This has to be the funniest book I have ever read! The author/subject of this memoir, in telling her own life history, managed to make me feel both normal and better about my own crazy life, which is by no means an easy task. I highly recommend this book to anyone who could use a good, therapeutic, laugh until you cry or wet your pants story. (A word of warning; do not read this in a public area or risk embarrassing yourself.)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mikaela United States 02-14-13
    Mikaela United States 02-14-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious; brutal honesty at it’s best!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    The audio version was the best. The author reads it so naturally and with additional commentary, it's like grabbing a drink with a friend and listening to her latest (possibly exaggerated) hilarious events.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    All the events/stories are totally relatable yet the author’s experiences seem to always take it one step further.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    “knock knock mother F***er!”


    Any additional comments?

    This book was absolutely fabulous; I couldn’t stop listening to it—well, I had to stop at work because I was constantly laughing out loud and making a bit of a scene. It literally made me look forward to my hour long (each way) commutes to and from work each day. After finishing it, I’ve tried to find another book this awesome and so far nothing has even come close.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer ORLANDO, FL, United States 02-04-13
    Jennifer ORLANDO, FL, United States 02-04-13 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious and twisted!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I loved that the author read the book, it allowed her story to be told in exactly the way she wanted it to be.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The author was totally hilarious!


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I haven't listened to any others yet, but I definitely will seek them out now


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed out loud multiple times and once laughed so hard that I cried.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Kruczek 02-03-13

    Wife, Mother, and daughter to wonderful people. i love books, discussions, and debating. I love to volunteer where ever I can.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughter until your stomach hurts!"

    I had know idea I could laugh so hard. The beginning of the book is a killer. It tappers off towards the middle and end. Well worth the listen/read. I finished it in three days because I couldn't stop listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin SANTA ANA, CA, United States 02-01-13
    Kevin SANTA ANA, CA, United States 02-01-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "funny, raunchy, poignant but had a slow moment"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. It was funny! would NOT however recommend it to my mother or family. a little too raunchy and she says vagina like its water! The beginning had me rolling (and swerving b/c I listen while I drive) but I did find myself drifting in the middle. The memoir story's were a bit too meandering but she picked it up in the end. It was a great book and if I needed a quick laugh I found myself turning it on at random points after I had finished reading,


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    too many to count! too many funny situations that she recollected and shared so vividly


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughed out loud ALOT


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mairkk81 United States 01-28-13
    Mairkk81 United States 01-28-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I would recommend it to someone I think may enjoy this type of humor however most of my friends don't.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    Don't remember my reaction


    What three words best describe Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    Quirky, Cute, Funny


    What else would you have wanted to know about Jenny Lawson’s life?

    whatever else she would like to share.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kasey 01-22-13
    Kasey 01-22-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Open, honest, raw and hilarious"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Jenny Lawson opened herself to us and proudly displayed the things that most people will spend a lifetime trying to forget. She embraced her wonky upbringing and her oddities and 'normal' ways wearing them like a badge of honor.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Jenny Lawson? Why or why not?

    Absolutely, I feel as though she has a lot of great stories to tell.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The way that she tells her personal experiences and journey is something that could not be matched if it were just read.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 181-190 of 312 results PREVIOUS118192032NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.