We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2531 )
5 star
 (1223)
4 star
 (591)
3 star
 (355)
2 star
 (183)
1 star
 (179)
Overall
4.0 (2337 )
5 star
 (1113)
4 star
 (558)
3 star
 (321)
2 star
 (171)
1 star
 (174)
Story
4.1 (2322 )
5 star
 (1283)
4 star
 (471)
3 star
 (246)
2 star
 (131)
1 star
 (191)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Krista Golden, CO, United States 06-26-13
    Krista Golden, CO, United States 06-26-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let's Pretend This Book Never Ended!!"

    What's not to love about this book and admire about the author? Anyone who can write (and then read) in such a way that a) I have to laugh out loud frequently, b) I must text my friend the best lines so we can laugh together, and c) I start talking and writing similarly, is my idol. And also, anyone who can use profanity more often and more convincingly than I - and make a career of it - deserves accolades. I'm her newest, biggest fan.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hilary Vancouver, BC, Canada 06-21-13
    Hilary Vancouver, BC, Canada 06-21-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sorry Jenny - I stopped as soon as I started"
    What would have made Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) better?

    A different person doing the voice


    What was most disappointing about Jenny Lawson’s story?

    Couldn't listen to her voice


    What didn’t you like about Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    Everything unfortunately


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Couldn't get past the first chapter


    Any additional comments?

    Only audible book I gave up on - should remember to listen to the sample next time - my bad!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Bailey Oracle, AZ 06-21-13
    Sharon Bailey Oracle, AZ 06-21-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "FANTASTIC"

    Truly one of the most entertaining books I've listened to in YEARS & Jenny reading it totally topped it! I will be gifting this book to several people!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deva SEATTLE, WA, United States 06-20-13
    Deva SEATTLE, WA, United States 06-20-13 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Most Enjoyable Listen So Far"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    The author is hilarious, it felt more like a conversation with a friend than listening to a book.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked that the author made fun of herself while being unapologetic for being human.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The honesty of the author, I will listen to this book over and over.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Niantic, CT, United States 06-16-13
    Carol Niantic, CT, United States 06-16-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't get past the third paragraph"
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I love books on tape. I listen everyday, while walking the dog, doing work, driving long distances. I was looking for something light, since I had listened to several books that were heavier just prior to listening to this one. This one is so stupid, I can't waste my time on it. I made a mistake. There must be a market for it, but I have tried to start over with it several times. Who wants to waste a whole book. I truly did with this one.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Jenny Lawson again?

    Never


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ashlee Laurens, SC, United States 06-16-13
    ashlee Laurens, SC, United States 06-16-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lets pretend this never happened"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I couldn't even take a sip of drink because I was scared I would choke from laughing so hard! The funniest book I've ever listened to.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    Narration and story line were both hilarious


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wendy Indianapolis, IN, United States 06-14-13
    Wendy Indianapolis, IN, United States 06-14-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I am in love!"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes, Jenny is hilarious! I related to a lot that she had been through. I loved how she shined a funny, happy, and oddly optimistic light on almost everything.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jenny is great, keeps you entertained, and wondering what the hell is going to happen to her next. This is because there is no way you could guess what you are about to hear.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I did not know anything about Jenny when I bought this book, but I am so thankful I stopped and listened.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Most people do not....


    Any additional comments?

    I laughed, I cried, and I related in a way I did not feel was possible. Her relationship with her husband, Victor, is just like mine with my girlfriend.

    Thank you Jenny!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chelly Las Vegas 06-03-13
    Chelly Las Vegas 06-03-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    49
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Never forget this all happenedd"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Just having Jenny read it made it that much better. The bonus chapters didn't hurt either. She's brilliant.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    I wouldn't compare this to anything. Read it, you'll see what I mean.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    I love all her stories about her father. He is ca-razy. Also, Victor. God bless Victor.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed until I cried. Also the combination of bad freeway traffic and her troubles having a baby made me a little sick, but that's mostly just a personal problem.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm looking forward to everything else she eventually puts out. I mean, my friend and I seriously drove to another state to see her and get our books signed. She was worth it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Genevieve Boss A2, MI 05-31-13
    Genevieve Boss A2, MI 05-31-13 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    77
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I hate writing headlines for reviews"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I love the sincerity, the humor, and the narration. Jenny's voice is very nice, and I feel like it'd be hard for someone else to give her stories the correct inflection.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Probably the magic squirrel. That, or the time she wore a deer sweater. Or the cow thing. Maybe truck/snake incident.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her narration made it feel like she was telling her story just to me. She's warm and inviting on her blog, and warm and inviting in her storytelling.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    So. Much. Taxidermy.


    Any additional comments?

    This is a woman who's incredibly honest (and funny) about a wide variety of topics, and I feel like she did a damn good job. She made me laugh and read parts of it out loud to my daughter (or anyone else within earshot), even when the topic at hand wasn't necessarily palatable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LORI Trophy Club, TX, United States 05-23-13
    LORI Trophy Club, TX, United States 05-23-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining but the voice was annoying."

    I enjoyed the majority of the story. Jenny Lawson is funny and thinks like I do.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.