We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Written by: 
Jenny Lawson
Narrated by: 
Jenny Lawson
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4321 )
5 star
 (2265)
4 star
 (998)
3 star
 (523)
2 star
 (266)
1 star
 (269)
Overall
4.1 (3982 )
5 star
 (2054)
4 star
 (943)
3 star
 (471)
2 star
 (243)
1 star
 (271)
Story
4.2 (3974 )
5 star
 (2379)
4 star
 (738)
3 star
 (379)
2 star
 (196)
1 star
 (282)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lainnie L Capouya 11-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Favorite Memoir"

    A must read for anyone who grew up in the rural south. A wonderfully comedic childhood. Thanks for the laughs!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 11-19-15
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 11-19-15 Member Since 2016

    Ni

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hilarious... Vagina."

    hard not to enjoy her off kilter humor. many of the things she said and thought I have done and said. laughed out loud many times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vania 11-17-15
    Vania 11-17-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awkward moments"

    Jenny Lawson has been the protagonist of a lot of embarrassingly funny moments.
    I recommend the audio book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    edie514 11-15-15
    edie514 11-15-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story. I love that she reads her own books."

    I love her books and her voice and inflection make the story great as an audiobook. my only complaint is that it wasn't longer! I didn't want it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Lincoln, MA, USA 11-14-15
    Elizabeth Lincoln, MA, USA 11-14-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very funny for the first half, then annoying"
    Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

    No, I think I've heard her funniest material, which is about her childhood


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Edit, edit, edit. It felt like she was pushed to make her story longer.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Jenny Lawson?

    Probably not. I found her voice annoying.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    I really loved this book at first. It had me laughing out loud. But after awhile the story got whiny and I got tired of hearing how she and her husband were fighting, how she embarrassed him, and way too much about her vagina.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelly Olean, NY, United States 11-09-15
    Kelly Olean, NY, United States 11-09-15 Member Since 2008

    I love to read... love to listen while I walk my dog, Sally Jo.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    185
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing story"

    funny story glad I down loaded it so many great interesting things kept me laughing the entire time don't hasitate download it you will not regret it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Deen Upper Peninsula, MI 11-08-15
    Mary Deen Upper Peninsula, MI 11-08-15 Member Since 2007

    snowed under

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    224
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes


    What did you like best about this story?

    All of it. I usually reward myself with an audio book when I'm doing something odious like cleaning the house. I had to sit down and just listen because I was laughing so hard I was crying and I didn't want to vacuum up my shoe laces cause that's never good.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AnnieJ2113 11-08-15
    AnnieJ2113 11-08-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Jenny is amazing. Read two of her books already. Need more cowbell? Need more books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Swope katy, tx United States 11-04-15
    M. Swope katy, tx United States 11-04-15 Member Since 2015

    pinch

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson's book is wonderful!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes - especially if you've lived in Texas... So much of this book is relate-able (and quite a bit isn't, but whatever). Jenny's reading is great - almost like she's ad-libbing. The more serious parts are a little difficult to endure (esp. if you're empathetic), but she brings you back with other stories that lighten the mood...


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The story about her dog (that died) and her interaction with her husband, neighbors and her friend, seems to blow out of control, then come back together nicely...


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but I'm considering her next book, "Furiously Happy..."


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I did actually laugh out loud at several of the passages. Mostly, they made me smile.


    Any additional comments?

    Wow! This girl can talk! and talk... and... well, you get it. Plus she curses a lot, but if you're prepared for it, the stories are great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KDirt Jackson, WY United States 11-03-15
    KDirt Jackson, WY United States 11-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't let the start stop you!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Certainly the most unusual and somewhat outrageous book, however, I was entertained!


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    Incomparable to any other book I've read!!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Artificially inseminating the cow.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed most of the book!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.