We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4927 )
5 star
 (2637)
4 star
 (1130)
3 star
 (574)
2 star
 (293)
1 star
 (293)
Overall
4.1 (4537 )
5 star
 (2391)
4 star
 (1064)
3 star
 (520)
2 star
 (271)
1 star
 (291)
Story
4.2 (4535 )
5 star
 (2780)
4 star
 (814)
3 star
 (423)
2 star
 (216)
1 star
 (302)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elizabeth Overland Park, KS 02-15-16
    Elizabeth Overland Park, KS 02-15-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is my spirit animal."

    The 2nd book is better. Music is annoying. Jenny's first go at narration is impressive. Funny subjects , well written, a great distraction that makes me feel less weird, alone, and far more comfortable in my own skin.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bjørn Borud Trondheim, Norway 02-10-16
    Bjørn Borud Trondheim, Norway 02-10-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The longest 8 hours and 41 minutes I can never have back"

    One or two funny anecdotes of deceased wildlife at the start and then hours of bland uptalky tedium.

    Towards the end my book-finishing OCD proved too weak. The only work of semibiographical fiction that comes close to being an equally malodorous brown stain in the nether garments of the arts is Aune Sand's movie "Dis".

    I have no idea what combination of prescription drugs one would have to ingest in order to derive any enjoyment from this book. I think we're talking multiple types of horse tranquilizer in suppository form. If that even exists.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jodie UNION CITY, CA, United States 02-09-16
    Jodie UNION CITY, CA, United States 02-09-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "HILARIOUS"

    Mental illness aside, I very much related to 99% of this book. I laughed my @$$ off, and was near to tears several times. Highly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mauigirl Maryland, USA 02-08-16
    Mauigirl Maryland, USA 02-08-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best!"

    Only one bad part.......it was when I came to the end of the book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BH Rockville 02-03-16
    BH Rockville 02-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "prepare for a lot of not funny none sense!"
    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Mostly agitation and disappointment. I constantly felt like I was trapped in a room with a crazy person that would not stop talking absolute NONE SENSE! and the worst part was that I paid for it!!!


    Any additional comments?

    I'm a person with a good sense of humor and laugh easily at pretty much anything with a hint of clever humor, but Ms. Lawson's story is mostly horrifyingly embarrassing life situations and I'm happy for her that she finds them humorous, but I did not find them funny nor educational. I did not enjoy this book at all so I can not recommend it to others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tmendes Vancouver, BC 02-03-16
    tmendes Vancouver, BC 02-03-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Second book is much better..."

    It was a bit annoying with the author singing the chapter titles - unfortunately you do get used to it by the end of the book...I personally really enjoyed her second book Furiously Happy and am glad that I started there. I wouldn't if I had started with this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 02-02-16
    Sarah 02-02-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing!"

    this book is absolutely amazing the fact that she laughs about her life even when it has scarred her Jenny is my new favorite author but makes it even better that she narrated it herself!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    4sisses 02-01-16
    4sisses 02-01-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson- awesome."

    I feel like I really know Jenny Lawson after listening to her read her own memior with all her enthusiasm, singing (!), arguing, confessions, expletives and laughter all exactly as she intended for you to experience them!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T. Redwood Santa Cruz 01-29-16
    T. Redwood Santa Cruz 01-29-16 Member Since 2015

    tredwood

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, at first"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    This book is what it is. There's nothing I would really change about it. At first, I had a problem with the author dropping the F-bomb so much, but she actually defines that in the beginning, so it's one with the character.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Jenny Lawson again?

    Probably not.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Jenny Lawson?

    The author, hopefully, is the only one that could and should get away with this.


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    A friend recommended this title. It's funny and cute at first, and I can clearly see the talents of an established blogger and writer here. But, after you get into it and realize how it's really not so funny anymore because the author is seriously mentally ill, the cute-factor vanishes and I was left hoping that her friends, husband and daughter will be ok in the future. Mental illness is not funny and cute.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristina 01-25-16
    Kristina 01-25-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let's pretend the singing didn't happen."

    I really liked each chapter. She is funny and it feels like you are talking to a friend. But... The singing of each chapter title is painful. When I realized at the third chapter that this would continue for the rest of the book I held my breath and winced every time there was a period of silence at the end of chapters in horrified anticipation of what would be next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.