The Epic Adventures of the Techno Wizard

3 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 38 ratings

Passage to Avalon Publisher's summary

Fans of Fablehaven and Harry Potter will love this modern spin on fantasy with the "hilariously epic journey" (Readers' Favorite) of a boy stuck in a magical land who can still post about his adventures on social media and YouTube!

Thirteen-year-old Sam Shelton is the only person in Avalon who can't use the magical power of aether. He's also the only person in Avalon with a bag of high-tech spy gear, a solar-powered cell phone with intermittent signal back to Earth, a YouTube account, and a murderous wizard-emperor on his he's got a lot going for him.

When an earthquake hits his hometown of Bozeman, Montana, Sam gets inexplicably transported to Avalon, a strange world in which aether defines all aspects of life: the rich, the poor, the weak, the powerful, the oppressed, and the oppressors. Sam soon discovers that not only is he immune to aether's magical effects but that he possesses the rare ability to destroy the stuff on contact. This phenomenon poses something of a major concern for the Emperor of Avalon, a tyrant who has dedicated his life to amassing more aether than all his subjects combined.

While trying to find a way back home, Sam learns that his best hope lies with meeting the emperor head on, and draining the tyrant of his power. To do that, Sam will need to band together with a medieval cowboy, a young aether prodigy, and a curious dryad, all while using his whole bag of technological tricks...and posting about it on social media, of course.

In Passage to Avalon, Mike Thayer takes a humorous, action-packed, and modern spin on the portal fantasy genre in the first book of The Epic Adventures of the Techno Wizard, a series that combines magical fantasy with near future technology and social media.

©2018 Michael Thayer (P)2018 Michael Thayer
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    • The Epic Adventures of the Techno Wizard, Book 1
    • By: Mike Thayer
    • Narrated by: Mike Thayer
    • Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
    • Release date: 09-27-18
    • Language: English
    • 5 out of 5 stars 38 ratings

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    The Uncharted Lands Audiobook By Mike Thayer cover art
    Not available on

  • Book 3

    The Vacant Realm Audiobook By Mike Thayer cover art
    Not available on