The Dying Earth

5 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 1,215 ratings

The Dying Earth Publisher's Summary

The stories in The Dying Earth introduce dozens of seekers of wisom and beauty - lovely lost women, wizards of every shade of eccentricity with their runic amulets and spells. We meet the melancholy deodands, who feed on human flesh and the twk-men, who ride dragonflies and trade information for salt. There are monsters and demons. Each being is morally ambiguous: The evil are charming, the good are dangerous. All are at home in Vance’s lyrically described fantastic landscapes, like Embelyon, where, “The sky [was] a mesh of vast ripples and cross-ripples and these refracted a thousand shafts of colored light, rays which in mid-air wove wondrous laces, rainbow nets, in all the jewel hues....”

The dying Earth itself is otherworldly: “A dark blue sky, an ancient sun.... Nothing of Earth was raw or harsh—the ground, the trees, the rock ledge protruding from the meadow; all these had been worked upon, smoothed, aged, mellowed. The light from the sun, though dim, was rich and invested every object of the land ... with a sense of lore and ancient recollection.” Welcome.

©2010 Jack Vance (P)2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less
Limited-time offer on Audible membership. Save 53% on your first 3 months. Get this deal.
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $20.99

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $20.99

  • Book 3

    • Tales of the Dying Earth, Book 3
    • By: Jack Vance
    • Narrated by: Arthur Morey
    • Length: 12 hrs and 39 mins
    • Release date: 04-15-10
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 146 ratings

    Regular price: $20.99

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $20.99

  • Regular price: $34.99