Jack Stapleton & Laurie Montgomery

12 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 3,232 ratings

Marker Publisher's Summary

Twenty-eight-year-old Sean McGillin is the picture of health, until he fractures his leg while in-line skating in New York City's Central Park. Within 24 hours of his surgery, he dies.

A 36-year-old mother, Darlene Morgan, has knee surgery to repair a torn ligament in her knee. And within 24 hours, she has died.

New York City medical examiners Dr. Laurie Montgomery and Dr. Jack Stapleton are back, in Robin Cook's electrifying 25th novel. Last seen in Vector, the doctors confront a series of puzzling hospital deaths of young, healthy people after successful routine surgery.

Despite institutional resistance from her superiors, as well as from those at Manhattan General, Laurie doggedly pursues the investigation. Though it seems impossible to determine why and how the patients are dying, she comes to suspect that not only are the deaths related, they're intentional, suggesting the work of a remarkably clever serial killer with a very unusual motive, involving frightening ties to both developing genomic medicine and the economics of modern-day health care.

Then Laurie is dealt a double blow: While coping with Jack's inability to commit to their relationship, she discovers she carries a genetic marker for a breast-cancer gene. As her personal life continues to unravel, the need for answers becomes more urgent, especially when Laurie is pulled into the nightmare as a potential victim herself. With time winding down, she and Jack race to connect the dots, and save Laurie's life.

With his signature blend of suspense and science, Robin Cook delivers an electrifying page-turner as vivid as today's headlines.

©2005 Robin Cook (P)2005 Penguin Audio and Recorded Books, LLC
Show More Show Less
Limited-time offer on Audible membership. Save 53% on your first 3 months. Get this deal.
  • Book 1

    Blindsight audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 2

    Contagion audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 3

    Chromosome 6 audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 4

    Vector audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 5

    Regular price: $35.00

  • Book 6

    Regular price: $33.60

  • Book 7

    Regular price: $31.50

  • Book 8

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 9

    Regular price: $31.50

  • Book 10

    • By: Robin Cook
    • Narrated by: George Guidall
    • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
    • Release date: 08-10-10
    • Language: English
    • 4 out of 5 stars 335 ratings

    Regular price: $31.50

  • Book 11

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 12

    Regular price: $28.00