Homer Kelly

18 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 136 ratings


Homer Kelly, Harvard professor and occasional sleuth, solves crimes steeped in New England history and literature.

Homer Kelly, former police detective and Thoreau scholar, teaches philosophy at Harvard University - and keeps getting drawn into solving intriguing crimes. In this series, Jane Langton cooks up mysteries with a distinctive New England flavor and lots of references to local history and literary lights. Set in Nantucket, Amherst, Concord, and Boston, as well as in the Ivy League halls of Cambridge, these cozies feature rich descriptions of storied places and eccentric people, providing an appealing atmosphere for the affable sleuthing professor.

Narrator Mark Ashby’s droll style deftly captures the unassuming Professor Homer. Ashby excels at presenting the subtle humor that peppers each story. He also deftly handles the historical and literary happenstances that often move Homer Kelly’s investigations along.

Author Jane Langton made her home in Lincoln, Massachusetts, adjacent to the historic town of Concord and a stone’s throw from Walden Pond, both of which she considered hallowed ground. “A novel grows out of a sense of place,” she once told The Boston Globe. She wrote more than 30 works of fiction, most of them mysteries and children’s books evoking the history and spirit of New England.

Show more Show less
Limited time offer: Get 3 months free