Conquered Earth

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 33 ratings

Midnight City Publisher's summary

Lord of the Flies meets War of the Worlds in this postapocalyptic tale of two teens and a young girl with amazing powers who must stop the aliens' mysterious plan.

Earth has been conquered by an alien race known as the Assembly. The adult human population is gone, having succumbed to the Tone - a powerful, telekinetic supersignal that has reduced them to a state of complete subservience. But the Tone has one critical flaw: it only affects those over the age of twenty, which means that there is one group left to fight - teens.

Holt Hawkins is a bounty hunter, and his current target is Mira Toombs, a treasure seeker who has escaped from Midnight City after being sentenced to death. It's not long before Holt bags his prey, but their instant connection isn't something Holt bargained for - and neither is the Assembly ship that crash - lands near them shortly after he captures Mira. Venturing aboard despite Mira's objections, Holt finds a young girl who can't remember anything except her name: Zoey.

The three soon begin an adventure through alien-conquered North America, encountering young freedom fighters, powerful artifacts that seem magical, pirates and brigands, and frightening mutated creatures of the night, all while trying to stay one step ahead of the Assembly. As Zoey starts to exhibit amazing powers, Holt and Mira realize that this young girl just may be the key to stopping the alien invaders.

Midnight City is the breathtaking first book in the Conquered Earth series, which chronicles three young people and their journey through a dangerous world they are trying to save.

J. Barton Mitchell is a screenwriter, comic-book writer, and author. He studied creative writing at the University of Houston before going on to receive a BS in film studies from the University of Texas. After selling screenplays to Warner Bros. and 20th Century Fox, he created and wrote the comic-book series Poe. He lives and writes in the Los Feliz area of Los Angeles.

©2012 J. Barton Mitchell (P)2012 Blackstone Audio, Inc
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $18.06 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $18.06 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $18.06 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $18.06 or 1 credit

  • Valley of Fires Audiobook By J. Barton Mitchell cover art
    Not available on