Showing results by author "Sergio De La Pava"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • Lost Empress

    • By: Sergio De La Pava
    • Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini, Full Cast
    • Length: 19 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 13
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 10

    From the acclaimed PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize-winning author of A Naked Singularity, a shockingly hilarious novel that tackles, with equal aplomb, both America’s most popular sport and its criminal justice system. From Paterson, New Jersey, to Rikers Island to the streets of New York, Sergio de la Pava’s Lost Empress introduces listeners to a cast of characters unlike any other in modern fiction: dreamers and exiles, immigrants and night-shift workers, a lonely pastor and others on the fringes of society - each with their own impact on the fragile universe they navigate.

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Bizarre

    • By Larry on 07-08-18

    Regular price: $38.50

    • A Naked Singularity

    • By: Sergio De La Pava
    • Narrated by: Luis Moreno
    • Length: 27 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 14

    A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never. In the book we hear what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • This book isn't for everyone! But it is quite good

    • By Matthew Dakus on 07-25-16

    Regular price: $41.99