Showing results by author "Rory Clements"

Categories

All Categories

10 results
Sort by
    • Martyr

    • An Elizabethan Thriller
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 271
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 205
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 205

    The year is 1587. One of Queen Elizabeth's cousins is found murdered, her flesh marked with profane symbols. A plot to assassinate Sir Francis Drake, England's most famous sea warrior, is discovered. One man is charged with the desperate task of solving both cases: John Shakespeare.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent Thriller/Mystery, Flawless Narration

    • By vanessa on 08-16-09

    Regular price: $20.72

    • Nucleus

    • Tom Wilde, Book 2
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Adam Sims
    • Length: 11 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no-one is safe. June, 1939. England is partying like there is no tomorrow, gas masks at the ready. In Cambridge, the May Balls are played out with a frantic intensity - but the good times won't last. When one of Cavendish Laboratory's finest minds is murdered, Professor Tom Wilde is once more drawn into intrigue. In a conspiracy that stretches from Cambridge to Berlin and from Washington, DC to the west coast of Ireland, he faces deadly forces that threaten the fate of the world.

    Regular price: $29.84

    • The Queen's Man

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 10 hrs and 44 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes The Queen's Man, the sixth in his acclaimed bestselling John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. England is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • The Heretics

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 11 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 20
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 16
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 17

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes THE HERETICS, the fifth in his acclaimed John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. 'Does for Elizabeth's reign what C. J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • Corpus

    • Tom Wilde, Book 1
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Adam Sims
    • Length: 11 hrs and 53 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    This big canvas international spy thriller marks the beginning of a brilliant new direction for Rory Clements. 1936. Europe is in turmoil. The Nazis have marched into the Rhineland. In Russia, Stalin has unleashed his Great Terror. Spain has erupted in civil war. In Berlin, a young Englishwoman evades the Gestapo to deliver vital papers to a Jewish scientist. Within weeks, she is found dead, a silver syringe clutched in her fingers.

    Regular price: $28.91

    • Martyr

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Peter Wickham
    • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 5

    Drake: Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • Holy Spy

    • John Shakespeare 7
    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4

    For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" ( Sunday Times). In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth and free Mary Queen of Scots.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • Traitor

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 12 hrs and 40 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 2

    The Elizabethan navy has a secret weapon: an optical instrument so powerful it gives England unassailable superiority at sea. Spain will stop at nothing to steal it and seize the two men who understand its secrets - William Ivory, the 'Queen's Eye', and the magician Dr Dee. With a second Armada threatened, intelligencer John Shakespeare is sent north to escort Dr Dee to safety. But he finds Dee's host, the Earl of Derby, dying in agony, apparently poisoned.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • Revenger

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Peter Wickham
    • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5

    1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex.

    Regular price: $15.48

    • Prince

    • By: Rory Clements
    • Narrated by: Jonathan Aris
    • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Spring 1593. England is a powder keg of rumour and fear. Plague rages, famine is rife, the ageing Queen's couriers scheme: Elizabeth's Golden Age is truly tarnished. Meanwhile Spain watches and waits - and plots. Into this turmoil a small cart clatters through the streets of London, carrying a deadly load. It is the first in a wave of horrific bombing attacks on the Dutch immigrant community that will change John Shakespeare's life for ever.

    Regular price: $15.48