Showing results by author "Paula McLain"

Categories

All Categories

11 results
Sort by
    • Circling the Sun

    • A Novel
    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Katharine McEwan
    • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,422
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,088
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,085

    Brought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe, who share his estate. Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent understanding of nature's delicate balance. But even the wild child must grow up, and when everything Beryl knows and trusts dissolves, she is catapulted into a string of disastrous relationships.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Pro: It made me want to read "West With the Night"

    • By Ilana on 08-01-15

    Regular price: $31.50

    • Love and Ruin

    • A Novel
    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: January LaVoy
    • Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 305
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 286
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 283

    In 1937, 28-year-old Martha Gellhorn travels alone to Madrid to report on the atrocities of the Spanish Civil War and becomes drawn to the stories of ordinary people caught in the devastating conflict. It's the adventure she's been looking for and her chance to prove herself a worthy journalist in a field dominated by men. But she also finds herself unexpectedly - and uncontrollably - falling in love with Hemingway, a man on his way to becoming a legend. In the shadow of the impending Second World War, Martha and Ernest's relationship and their professional careers ignite.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Reflection and Immersion

    • By Jeff P in Houston on 05-13-18

    Regular price: $35.00

    • The Paris Wife

    • A Novel
    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Carrington MacDuffie
    • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 3,451
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 2,698
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 2,709

    Chicago, 1920: Hadley Richardson is a quiet 28eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness—until she meets Ernest Hemingway and her life changes forever. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in a lively and volatile group—the fabled “Lost Generation”—that includes Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, and F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald.

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Narration Issues

    • By Sara on 10-06-15

    Regular price: $28.00

    • Like Family

    • Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Wendy Tremont King
    • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 3

    This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s. As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next 14 years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years - a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club.

    Regular price: $17.49

    • The Paris Wife

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Carrington MacDuffie
    • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 34
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29

    Chicago, 1920: Hadley Richardson is a shy 28-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness when she meets Ernest Hemingway and is captivated by his energy, intensity and burning ambition to write. After a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for France. But glamorous Jazz Age Paris, full of artists and writers, fuelled by alcohol and gossip, is no place for family life and fidelity.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Honest and beautifully written

    • By Maritza Breitenbach on 01-30-15

    Regular price: $18.11

    • Lady Africa

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Anna Thalbach
    • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
    • Abridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 1

    Stranger than Fiction: Das Leben der britischen Flugpionierin Beryl Markham. Paula McLain, gefeierte Autorin von Madame Hemingway, erzählt das abenteuerliche Leben der britischen Flugpionierin, Pferdezüchterin und Schriftstellerin Beryl Markham: Eine der bemerkenswertesten Frauen des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, die - allen Konventionen zum Trotz - ihr Liebe zu Afrika, die Leidenschaft für Pferde und ihren Traum vom Fliegen behauptete.

    Regular price: $12.98

    • Circling the Sun

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Suzannah Hampton
    • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8

    As a young girl, Beryl Markham was brought to Kenya from Britain by parents dreaming of a new life. For her mother the dream quickly turned sour, and she returned home; Beryl was brought up by her father, who switched between indulgence and heavy-handed authority, allowing her first to run wild on their farm, then incarcerating her in the classroom. The scourge of governesses and a serial absconder from boarding school, by the age of 16 Beryl had been catapulted into a disastrous marriage.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Circling the Sun Beryl Markham

    • By PACMAC on 09-25-15

    Regular price: $20.24

    • L'Aviatrice

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Odile Cohen
    • Length: 12 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Beryl Markham a deux ans lorsque sa famille s'installe au Kenya en 1904. Très vite abandonnée par sa mère, elle est élevée par son père - entraîneur de chevaux de course - et par les natifs de la tribu Kipsigi, qui vivent sur les terres paternelles. Cette éducation non-conventionnelle pour quelqu'un de son rang fait d'elle une jeune femme audacieuse et farouche, qui voue un amour sans bornes à la nature sauvage et se moque de la bienséance.

    Regular price: $25.19

    • Madame Hemingway

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Karen Marie Jensen
    • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      1 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      1 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      1 out of 5 stars 1

    Hadley Richardson er 28 år gammel, da hun møder Ernest Hemingway. De gifter sig og drager til Paris, hvor de falder ind i boheme - og kunstnermiljøet omkring Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald - den famøse "Lost Generation".

    Regular price: $16.10

    • Love and Ruin

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: January LaVoy
    • Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2

    In 1937, courageous and independent Martha Gellhorn travels to Madrid to report on the atrocities of the Spanish Civil War and finds herself drawn to the stories of ordinary people caught in devastating conflict. She also finds herself unexpectedly - and uncontrollably - falling in love with Ernest Hemingway, a man already on his way to being a legend. In the shadow of the impending Second World War, and set against the tumultuous backdrops of Madrid, Finland, China, and especially Cuba, where Martha and Hemingway made their home, their relationship and professional careers ignite.

    Regular price: $21.81

    • Hemingway und ich

    • By: Paula McLain
    • Narrated by: Vera Teltz
    • Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Meisterhaft inszeniert Paula McLain die stürmische Beziehung zwischen Ernest Hemingway und seiner dritten Frau Martha Gellhorn. Als Martha sich haltlos in den zehn Jahre älteren Ernest verliebt, ist sie gerade achtundzwanzig Jahre alt, hat aber schon die halbe Welt bereist. Später wird sie eine der berühmtesten Kriegsreporterinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts sein. Hals über Kopf folgt sie Hemingway in den Spanischen Bürgerkrieg und legt dort an seiner Seite den Grundstein für ihre Karriere. Doch als ihre Anerkennung wächst und Ernest immer größere Erfolge feiert, muss Martha sich entscheiden.

    Regular price: $19.70