Showing results by author "Matt Thompson"


All Categories

1 results
Sort by
    • Noise: A Human History - The Complete Series

    • The Complete Series
    • By: Matt Thompson
    • Narrated by: David Hendy
    • Length: 7 hrs and 10 mins
    • Original Recording
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7

    This 30-part Radio 4 series explores how our interactions with sound have shaped us over 100,000 years. These specially extended episodes, recorded on location around the world and in collaboration with curators of the British Library Sound Archive, take us from prehistory to the present, encompassing the shamanistic music of our cave-dwelling ancestors, the massacre of noisy cats in pre-revolutionary Paris, the nerve-destroying din of trench warfare, right through to the cacophony of the modern metropolis.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • a great book to listen to

    • By Airton on 07-16-16

    Regular price: $20.66