Showing results by author "Maria Tatar"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • The Turnip Princess and Other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales

    • By: Erika Eichenseer, Franz Xaver von Schonwerth, Maria Tatar
    • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
    • Length: 7 hrs and 23 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 5

    Franz Xaver von Schönwerth traversed Northern Bavaria to record fairy tales, gaining the admiration of even the Brothers Grimm. Most of Schönwerth's work was lost until a few years ago. Now, for the first time, Schönwerth's lost fairy tales are available in English. Violent, dark, and full of action, and upending the relationship between damsels in distress and their dragon-slaying heroes, these more than 70 stories bring us closer than ever to the unadorned oral tradition in which fairy tales are rooted, revolutionizing our understanding of a hallowed genre.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • loved the stories

    • By Taylor Hofbauer on 12-27-16

    Regular price: $26.59

    • The Artificial Silk Girl

    • By: Irmgard Keun, Maria Tatar (introduction), Katharina von Ankum (translator)
    • Narrated by: Erin Mallon
    • Length: 5 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 5

    In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty.

    Regular price: $19.95