Showing results by author "Lindsay Hawdon"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • Jakob's Colors

    • By: Lindsay Hawdon
    • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 2

    Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs for his life as he has been told to do. With shoes made of sack cloth - stained with another person's blood - and a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other, he runs blindly, full of fear and nearly drained of hope. He knows when to trust a stranger and when to be wary. He knows how to read the land and the sky - when to seek shelter, when not to. He has grown up following the wind and sticking to the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is new. He has never been so alone.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Disappointed

    • By Michael on 05-14-18

    Regular price: $36.51

    • Jakob's Colours

    • By: Lindsay Hawdon
    • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5

    Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust, this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark, and The Book Thief. "Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written" (Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award-winner PURE) Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, halif Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sackcloth, still stained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Beautiful, sad, not to be missed

    • By ernest drown on 02-24-16

    Regular price: $17.55