We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Laird Barron

1-10of10results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All: Stories | Laird Barron

    The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All: Stories

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By Ray Porter
    Overall
    (7)
    Performance
    (7)
    Story
    (7)

    Over the course of two award-winning collections and a critically acclaimed novel, The Croning, Laird Barron has arisen as one of the strongest and most original literary voices in modern horror and the dark fantastic. Melding supernatural horror with hardboiled noir, espionage, and a scientific backbone, Barron's stories have garnered critical acclaim and have been reprinted in numerous year's best anthologies and nominated for multiple awards, including the Crawford, International Horror Guild, Shirley Jackson, Theodore Sturgeon, and World Fantasy awards.

    Yves Tourigny says: "A match made in... well..."
  • The Gods of H. P. Lovecraft | Laird Barron,Jonathan Maberry,Rachel Caine,David Liss,Seanan McGuire,Christopher Golden,Erin J French,James A Moore

    The Gods of H. P. Lovecraft

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Laird Barron, Jonathan Maberry, Rachel Caine, and others
    • Narrated By uncredited, David Stifel
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (280)
    Performance
    (255)
    Story
    (253)

    The Gods of H.P. Lovecraft: a brand new anthology that collects the 12 principal deities of the Lovecraftian Mythos and sets them loose. Featuring the biggest names in horror and dark fantasy, including many New York Times best sellers; full of original fiction; and individual commentary on each of the deities by Donald Tyson.

    KL says: "Starts of slow but very good"
  • The Imago Sequence: And Other Stories | Laird Barron

    The Imago Sequence: And Other Stories

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By Ray Porter
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (21)
    Performance
    (20)
    Story
    (20)

    The title story of this collection - a devilishly ironic riff on H. P. Lovecraft's "Pickman's Model" - was nominated for a World Fantasy Award, while "Probiscus" was nominated for an International Horror Guild award and reprinted in The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror 19. In addition to his previously published work, this collection contains an original story.

  • The Croning | Laird Barron

    The Croning

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 51 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By Emily Zeller
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (114)
    Performance
    (105)
    Story
    (106)

    Strange things exist on the periphery of our existence, haunting us from the darkness looming beyond our firelight. Black magic, weird cults, and worse things loom in the shadows. The Children of Old Leech have been with us from time immemorial. And they love us.... Donald Miller, geologist and academic, has walked along the edge of a chasm for most of his nearly 80 years, leading a charmed life between endearing absent-mindedness and sanity-shattering realization. Now, all things must converge.

    Old Man Parker says: "Great Writer - Good story - VERY Wrong Reader,"
  • Occultation and Other Stories | Laird Barron

    Occultation and Other Stories

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By David Drummond
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (128)
    Performance
    (119)
    Story
    (118)

    Pitting ordinary men and women against a carnivorous, chaotic cosmos, Occultation's eight tales of terror (two never before published) include the Theodore Sturgeon and Shirley Jackson Award-nominated story "The Forest" and Shirley Jackson Award nominee "The Lagerstatte."

    C. Bland says: "Laird Barron is the future of horror"
  • The Best Horror of the Year Volume Five | Laird Barron,Ramsey Campbell,Dan Chaon,Margo Lanagan,Ellen Datlow - editor,Lucy Taylor

    The Best Horror of the Year Volume Five

    • UNABRIDGED (16 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Laird Barron, Ramsey Campbell, Dan Chaon, and others
    • Narrated By Daniel Thomas May
    Overall
    (75)
    Performance
    (68)
    Story
    (68)

    Darkness, both literal and psychological, holds its own unique fascination. Despite our fears, or perhaps because of them, listeners have always been drawn to tales of death, terror, madness, and the supernatural, and no more so than today when a wildly imaginative new generation of dark dreamers is carrying on in the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft and King, crafting exquisitely disturbing literary nightmares that gaze without flinching into the abyss - and linger in the mind long after.

    Dionne E Chester says: "Largely forgettable"
  • Limbus, Inc., Book III | Jonathan Maberry,Laird Barron,Seanan McGuire,David Liss,Keith R.A. DeCandido

    Limbus, Inc., Book III

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By Jonathan Maberry, Laird Barron, Seanan McGuire, and others
    • Narrated By David Stifel
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (58)
    Performance
    (54)
    Story
    (54)

    Thomas Malone thought he'd seen it all during his 25 years in the Birmingham homicide division. But then they found the body of a woman suspended above the opening of the mineshaft known as the Vertical, blood dripping into the chasm below. At the bottom of that shaft, two clues - a typed manuscript and a business card, blank but for a name on the front and a single sentence on the back.

    rooster says: "Confusing tale or two"
  • X's for Eyes | Laird Barron

    X's for Eyes

    • UNABRIDGED (3 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By David Stifel
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (19)
    Performance
    (17)
    Story
    (17)

    Brothers Macbeth and Drederick Tooms should have it made as fair-haired scions of an impossibly rich and powerful family of industrialists. Alas, life is complicated in mid-1950s USA when you're child heirs to the throne of Sword Enterprises, a corporation that has enshrined Machiavelli's The Prince as its operating manual. Consider also those long, cruel winters at the Mountain Leopard Boarding School for Assassins in the Himalayas, or that Dad may be a supervillain, while an uncle occasionally slaughters his nephews and nieces for sport.

    Bill says: "Signature dark crazy nastiness plus fun"
  • Man with No Name: The Nanashi Series, Book 1 | Laird Barron

    Man with No Name: The Nanashi Series, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Laird Barron
    • Narrated By Feodor Chin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (25)
    Performance
    (22)
    Story
    (22)

    Nanashi was born into a life of violence. Delivered from the mean streets by the Heron Clan, he mastered the way of the gun and knife and swiftly ascended through yakuza ranks to become a dreaded enforcer. His latest task? He and an entourage of expert killers are commanded to kidnap Muzaki, a retired world-renowned wrestler under protection of the rival Dragon Syndicate. It should be business as bloody usual for Nanashi and his ruthless brothers-in-arms.

  • The Best of Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine, January-February 2003 | Ursula K. Le Guin,M. Shayne Bell,Alex Irvine,Laird Barron,Sheila Finch

    The Best of Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine, January-February 2003

    • HIGHLIGHTS (5 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Ursula K. Le Guin, M. Shayne Bell, Alex Irvine, and others
    • Narrated By Stefan Rudnicki, Gabrielle de Cuir, Rex Linn
    Overall
    (28)
    Performance
    (8)
    Story
    (8)

    Here are six stories from the January and February 2003 issues of The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, at once more current and more human than today's headlines.

    Stephanie says: "good historical fantasy"
1-10of10results Previous 1 Next