Wolf

A Jessica James Mystery
Narrated by: Sabrina Davies
Series: Jessica James Mystery, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (73 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She wants her degree. But she just became a suspect of first-degree murder....

Jessica James is broke and counting down the days until she can defend her philosophy thesis. Desperate to get out of her grubby attic digs, she and her friends break into her professor’s office…only to find her adviser dead in the tub. Scoping the crime scene for clues, she leaves evidence that makes her both a suspect and a target. 

Suspecting the school's Russian janitor of doing more than sweeping the floors, Jessica mounts an investigation to clear her name. And when her ragtag posse helps her uncover a related date-drug scandal, repeated attempts on her drink make her fear she’s the next on the killer’s to-do list. 

Can Jessica unmask the murderer before her degree gets buried six feet under?

Wolf is the first stand-alone novel in the exhilarating Jessica James mystery series. If you like sassy detectives, irreverent humor, and crazy capers, then you’ll love Kelly Oliver’s hilarious adventure. 

Buy Wolf to join a girl-powered noir whodunit today! 

©2016 Kelly Oliver (P)2018 Kelly Oliver

More from the same

What listeners say about Wolf

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not worth my time

I read reviews suggesting this series was a series for fans of Stephanie Plum and Janet Evanovich. They could not be more wrong. I love Janet Evanovich's books and can not wait until the next one. This book I could not get past Chapter 4. I stuck with it as much as I could, but I had to stop. It was actually painful to listen. Do not waste your time.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I'm still a bit confused

I had a hard time getting immersed on the storie. It was a struggle to finish. I don't like doing spoilers but..... WTH?! They are trespassing, the phone rings and they pick and hang up the phone? Who does that? Also there where times i didn't understand what was going on (the poker games). But overall it wasn't bad, just too many plot lines. I'm hoping the next one is better.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So disappointing. Wasted a credit.

I truly don't understand how this book got awards.I love Janet Evanovich and that is why I downloaded it because of the comparisons. Many ideas and plotlines not tied together. But the main problem is that the characters are not likeable. The heroine is reportedly always filthy, smelly, and clumsy, yet supposedly found to be sexy by men just by putting on a sexy dress without showering? And she is gullible enough to let herself get drugged with GHB more than twice? I cannot imagine how her cohorts function and actually go to class since they are constantly smoking dope. I had to jump ahead in last 1/4 of the book to finish.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This was a mistake

This was a mistake. I thought it would be good based on the plot summary but I was wrong. This is a book with a lot of ideas that aren't really tied together. None of the characters are really likeable. I forced myself to listen as long as I could then I returned it. There are other books out there that deserve a chance. This is not one of them. (In my opinion)

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

Had a great time listening to this, the narrator has a fun conversational tone and a smoky voice! Good story too!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disappointed

disappointed, I read some very good reviews that did not match up. I must be missing something because I couldn't get into the story line, robotic writtng nor the Artist droning interpretation. Sorry I tried.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

grad student???

Who is naive. Doesn't have a university that she transfered in from? Wish I could get my money back, good thing it was only a few dollars.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

performance is lacking

The narrator sound computer animated and the way reads is disjointed. it's distracting and uneven.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

The narrator mixed with the story was a great combination. I couldnt wait to see what was going to happen to who next.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent story line, but.....

I was excited to have another mystery series to listen to, especially after reviews said it was very similar to Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. No, it is not. I'm not going to say that I completely hated it, but I honestly think that might have been because of the narration. I had a hard time following the story because I was so distracted by the awkwardness of the articulation and intonation. I do think that the frequency of drug and alcohol use could have been described or worded differently. It detracted from the storyline for me. Overall, a decent plot, but a bit predictable. I will not be listening to the rest of the series.