Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only.  

From New York Times best-selling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods - and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.  

Be careful of the dark, dark wood.... 

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.  

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman - the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago - and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.  

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own - secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.  

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times best-selling author Shea Ernshaw shows us why.

©2019 Shea Ernshaw (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

More from the same

What listeners say about Winterwood

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well knit

This is a solid YA book. I was a bit bored by what I felt to be heavy-handed foreshadowing, but I am a cranky old reader who has been through enough stories to see the well worn paths. I think this book may hold some fun twists for less grizzled readers. The plot elements wove together nicely at the end. Inner and outer conflicts were satisfyingly resolved. I liked this one. I will be recommending it to the young readers in my life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Like pulling teeth

I was really excited for this book. It's 100% my interest and aesthetic. But oh my goodness. Our main character is deeply introspective which isn't normally a bad thing, but she drags the narrative out so far. Not far in, she has what could be a quick conversation with another character about staying the night. It's a yes or no question, right? Wrong. We get paragraph after paragraph of inner monologue. She is also deeply buried in her identity of "the girl who lives across the lake". She constantly feels alienated and completely different from other people. This comes up very frequently and much narrative is centered around it. I just couldn't finish it and it's a shame.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can I give it 10 stars?

Can I give this book 10 stars? You know how it is when you read a story written so well it feels like you’re actually IN the story. When you’re finished and it takes you a while to get your bearings, like stepping off a boat onto solid ground and you stagger like a toddler with jello knees? I believe they call it ‘sea legs’. Is there such a thing as ‘book legs’? Winterwood is a timeless love story. A tale about a girl, her journey of self discovery, her connection to nature through seasons of the woods she grew up in. There’s also a mystery she’s determined to solve despite the dangers to herself and those she holds closest to her heart. The tale is told as seen from multiple character’s perspectives. Spun so vividly you can almost feel the crunch of snow drifts under your feet and shiver as the wind dances around you, through you, as you listen/read. (I read along with the kindle book.) This story mesmerized me. Transported me into Nora’s world, experiencing her hopes and fears right along with her. Being so engrossed I had a hard time letting her go in the end. Yes, it’s THAT good, and I highly recommend this story to any and everyone.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring for my taste

I really tried to get into this book but it just seemed to drag on without any excitement.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

This book was great. It was performed well and had a great storyline. When listening you get sucked in and do not want to stop. I highly suggest this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Mysterious Carousel

This is a book that takes you on a carousel of surprises! It’s not extremely witchy (spells done by the main character a lot) but it does have ancient family spells in the book. I enjoyed it very much but did get annoyed at every reveal assuming that was the case solved, but it wasn’t. So be patient. It’s worth a full read!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

...and then she woke up...

the repetitive language and the middle school-level story made this a very disappointing read, despite only hearing good things about it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Story was drawn out

drawn out. situations on the book were way longer than they needed to be. Author repeated herself many many times and it was frustrating.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

I enjoyed the book. I love how she was able to go back in time and change Oliver's fate. The narrator was great.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The Witch Sense

Winterwood is an aggressively repetitive and predictable YA novel that delivers an awkward and disappointing ending. Some things found in the wods are best left dead.