1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Who Rescued Who  By  cover art

Who Rescued Who

By: Victoria Schade
Narrated by: Marisa Calin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Where can you turn when the world turns against you? When Elizabeth Barnes’ life fell apart, she never imagined that she’d be rescued by a new friend on four paws.

The plan was simple: Elizabeth would ignore the fact that she was unjustly fired from her dream job, fly across the pond to settle an unexpected inheritance in her father’s home country, and quickly return to reclaim her position among the Silicon Valley elite.

But when Elizabeth stumbles upon an abandoned puppy, she’s shocked to realize that her brief trip to England might turn into an extended stay. Her strict itinerary is upended completely by the pup’s dogged devotion, and soon the lovable puppy helps her to connect with a tight-knit community of new friends on two legs and four, from the aunt and uncle she didn't know existed, to a grumpy coffee shop owner, to two very opinionated sheep. Along the way, Elizabeth is confronted by long-kept family secrets, hard truths about her former life, and a new romance that might lead her to question everything she knows about love. Because sometimes, rescue magic happens on both ends of the leash.

©2020 Victoria Schade (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Move over Marley and Enzo - there’s a new dog in town! Fans of John Grogan and Garth Stein will delight in Victoria Schade’s heartwarming new novel, Who Rescued Who. With crackling, whip smart dialogue and a touching story of redemption, Schade illustrates what it means to be rescued from our worst selves, and transformed into our best. Chock full of heart and humor, anyone who has ever been redeemed by the love of a dog will treasure this uplifting, big-hearted novel. A treat from start to finish!" (Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times best-selling author The Star-Crossed Sisters of Tuscany)

"Victoria Schade is that author who could write anything and I’d read it. Who Rescued Who is the perfect feel-good book with charismatic characters, swoony romance, family secrets, and snuggly puppies. Grab your furry friend and start reading now." (Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go)

"I loved it so, so much. It made me cry, but mostly it made me want to throw away my phone, buy some sheep and move to the English countryside to rescue dogs and live in a rom-com." (Teri Wilson, author of The Accidental Beauty Queen)

What listeners say about Who Rescued Who

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lifting, and a change of pace for me.

Victoria Schade points a light on the value of real relationships with kind people and a gentler culture, and holds up the never enough work till you drop "work ethic" to the light. Some Immersive characters I would like to be friends with, and others I would cross the street to avoid. Schade is a celebrated author of pet related literature, and I was concerned that Who rescued Who could be too steeped in dog ownership. That concern was eleviated as Schade built on the benefits and responsibilities in a pet relationship and the ways that softens your heart and can ground you in a spinning world. I found I became more involved from the intimate moment in the beer cellar on till the end. Loved the description and meaningful detail of the artwork mailed to SF. Really nice touches back to previous events. Comendable performance by the narrator. Maria Calin added depth with impeccable accents. I believe she's British, but you wouldn't know that from her American accent which is the main narrative.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect story, loss, love and a happy ending !

I really liked this book, the story was excellent and ofcourse the fact that it had dogs in the story made it even better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this is a totally awesome book.

awesome book. a extreamly wonderfull story and performance. wish it were longer. I would like to have known more.