Regular price: $20.24

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Absorbing and escapist, The Villa on the Riviera is perfect summer listening for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.

Polly Smith is struggling to make a living as an artist when her friend and patron, Oliver, invites her to the south of France. But her world is unexpectedly turned upside down when she digs out her birth certificate to apply for a passport. Her parents are not who she believed them to be - even her name is different.

Fleeing to the Riviera, Polly finds that the serenity and sunshine brings her art to life as never before. But all is not well in the grand house. Oliver's father was forced to leave England in a cloud of scandal and his past is about to catch up with him. And Polly's own future begins to take on a new and fascinating shape....

The perfect listen for fans of The Villa and Summer's Child, this is a beguiling and evocative tale that will transport you away to the Riviera itself.

©2015 Elzabeth Edmondson (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, too many characters not completely developed

There were far too many characters who were interesting in the beginning, but lost steam towards the end of the book. Still a listenable book for a beach or a car ride.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Storyline

This book has a good storyline that is easy to follow. It is well read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too many characters for so thin a plot

The reader was excellent, giving each of the (far too) many characters a separate voice. The characterizations were very good, even the minor characters were described with perhaps more detail than they deserved. The plot was thin and the book went on too long.




2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Alexa
  • United States
  • 12-16-15

Meandering and boring

I was hoping this would be a cozy and entertaining mystery/romance story. No such luck.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen.

Very entertaining,interesting characters well developed. Just enough twists to make you want more. Looking forward to the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice story, wonderful reader.

The woman doing the reading was fantastic. Great story. Wish there was another. Will download more books by this author and reader!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

still delightful

I have liked Elizabeth's other books more, but this one was still delightful. Poly, the main character, was sweet and relateable if a bit annoying at times.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Pornographic

Story was fine until introduction of pornography. I did not finish book because of this.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's a bit of fluff

I liked the first of this series but on hearing the second, the formula becomes very apparent. Predictable, tied up in a neat bow, improbable relations and relationships. The author does give us lovely settings and a peek at life in the late 1930s. The narrator is terrific with appropriate accents and inflections. I won't rush to another of these but will remember them for a time when I need something cozy and light.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

terrible and annoying narrator!

i really struggled to make it to the end. The narrator was terrible, extremely annoying.


0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Animal lover
  • 08-14-15

Compelling

A story with several twists. Nothing it what it seems! Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Linda
  • 07-06-16

Nice old fashioned mystery and romance

I am obviously getting a bit sentimental in my old age but I am enjoying this run of Elizabeth Edmonson stories. Yes I saw where most of the storylines were going but that really didn't matter at all. Good interesting bunch of vintage characters and a thoroughly unpleasant villain all very well portrayed by Nicolette McKenzie who suits this type of book admirably.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pamela
  • 06-04-15

My kind of book

It has everything: original plot, engaging characters, nicely paced. Didn't want it to end. Would make a good movie.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jan
  • 11-04-15

Wonderful fairytale

Thoroughly engrossing and enjoyable story with amazing characterisation. Well narrated and I loved the descriptions of the people and scenery. Sometimes the story was a little far fetched but that didn't detract from the experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MiniMum
  • 07-23-18

What a lovely discovery!

Such an enjoyable book, well read too. I’m going to buy more of these to listen to.
If you like Georgette Heyer’s detective novels and stories with long sentences and interesting people that takes a while to weave diverse threads together and has a happy ending, then you will like this too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-01-17

Enchanting

The descriptions of characters and places are so detailed it makes one become part of the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Charlotte Hawkins
  • 08-28-18

Wonderful

One of my favourite books. Great writing, good plot. Wonderful atmosphere created. Also try the selchester series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ajskels
  • 08-22-18

Well worth a listen

Loved listening to this, twisting and turning story. Very well read with emotion and understanding

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fiona
  • 04-04-18

Best Christie tradition

International sumptious historical murder: mystery, fashionable folk, art and architecture. Characters credibly played and voiced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TimV
  • 01-04-18

Precisely what an audio book should be.

Beautifully written and narrated. An engrossing story with just enough colourful characters to keep one's interest. It doesn't dash about from future to past as so many books do nowadays. It reminded me of a play on the 'Home Service' if anyone remembers that. An absolute gem, one of my favourites along with 'The Trouble with Goats And Sheep'.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HeatherOz
  • 09-22-18

Thoroughly enjoyable

Loved it. Will look for other books by this author. The voices were very realistic and matched the story well.