Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name...

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others....

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields, and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and listening long into the night once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    240
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    75
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    53

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    231
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure I can finish...

I’m so distracted from the story and being able to get into it because of the narrator...she talks like an “angsty teen” and it’s hard to get past.

20 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Distracting Narrator

I don’t know if smaller town Pennsylvania folks have New York accents, but in this rendition they do.

I could get past that if it weren’t for the frequent mispronunciation of words, frequent dropping of syllables altogether (o-bit-chur-ee for obituary, sanc-chur-ee for sanctuary, and more). I had to listen to one part like three times before I figured out that “esteerior” was hysteria (exterior didn’t make sense in context).

Basically, it was all incredibly distracting to the story - jarring. I won’t listen to this author again unless the narrator is different. I have listened to over a hundred books on tape/audible and this is the worst narrator I’ve come across.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, terrible narrator and producer

The mispronounced words are everywhere. Did no one editing this actually listen? I think I'll read the next installments rather than listen to this, too aggravating. I mean who actually pronounces ob-gyn as obgine or any as eni? So many words said wrong for the setting. Just no.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

loved it. looking forward to the next in the series. kept me up listening all night

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This narrator was horrible.

This narrator was horrible. Her constant mispronounciation of words and the long eee sound drove me up the wall. Loved the story but will never listen to this narrator again

8 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

ugh! that narrator!

had to return because that narrator was horrible! her pronunciation is all over the place, her characters all sound like teenage girls(even the men). I just don't understand why she sounds the way she does, it's so obnoxious that I couldn't finish listening. seriously, listen to the sample before spending a credit on this hot mess. a shame because I think the story was probably good, I was just so distracted by the awful narrator I can't be sure.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Narrator!

I honestly don't know how this narrator is chosen to read books! She has a Canadian accent, which is fine, but not for narrating books set in the States. She also seems to have difficulty pronouncing words correctly, and she's very awkward when switching characters.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t be put off by negative reviews.

I nearly missed listening to this book because of the numerous negative reviews concerning the narration. I found the narrator easy to listen to and so I became totally engrossed in the story. Josie Quinn is a detective who has been suspended from duty and when girls go missing she uses what ever means she can to help solve the case. At this point I won’t elaborate on the story because it would spoil it for others but there are many unexpected twists in this tale.

I enjoyed the book and will listen to the other books in this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Enjoyed It

Well written, couldn't my wait to continue listening to it when I was doing something and I couldn't

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, horrible narration.

This narrator is lazy or something. She mispronounced words in one sentence only to pronounce it differently later. Very distracting in my opinion. Took away from the story.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-23-18

Well written book about warped and cruel people

Thought this book was excellent. It was basically a cruel story which with skill pulls the reader into the twists and turns on a race to the crashing finish

I have to disagree with the reviewer who thought there was too much swearing .. it was little and appropriate and I have seen and heard much more on TV.

Highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L_McC
  • 03-29-18

Enjoyed it

Great book but the narrator was terrible which wastes it a bit. If u can get over that though I’d recommend it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Denise Smaron
  • 09-08-18

Very enjoyable

loved it Couldn't put it down as there was so much happening in the storyline you had to find out what was going to happen next.


A

1 of 1 people found this review helpful