Your audiobook is waiting…

Vamp Town

The Monster Keeper Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Andrés Alcalá
Series: The Monster Keeper Series, Book 1
Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
2 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New jobs can suck....

Today is Liz Adams' first day on the job as an agent of the Center for Specter Control. Established by Theodore Roosevelt in 1890, its clandestine mission is to protect the world from the stuff of myths and legends or, at the very least, cheesy movies. To say that she has a few questions would be an understatement.

However, before Liz can be fully briefed by her new partner Craig Wright, alarm bells sound, indicating that the perimeter of Res-Site-Alpha has been breached.

Not an escape. An incursion. 

How did anyone find the secret vampire reservation, and why would they break in?

Answers will have to wait. First, nine unsuspecting humans must be saved from being the guests of honor at a feast for the inhabitants of Vamp Town.

Perhaps, by her second day, Liz will have a better understanding of what she has gotten herself into...if she survives the night.

In his debut novel, Jeff Seats has written an urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage, Chuck Hogan and Guillermo del Toro's The Strain, S.M. Stirling's A Taint in the Blood, Silvia Moreno-Garcia's Certain Dark Things, and even Jim Butcher's Storm Front.

Vamp Town imagines a world in which vampires and other supernatural creatures are alive and active and have been in the world for a very long time.

In 1890, the vampire race was on a rapid path to extinction. Alexei Rurik, Khan of all the families, proposed and signed a startling agreement with Theodore Roosevelt: In exchange for a haven and guaranteed supply of blood, vampires would no longer roam the night, feasting at will.

For 126 years, vampires and humans have not mixed...until now. Passengers off a broken-down bus have stumbled into the reservation, known by its guardians at the Center for Specter Control (a secret government agency) as Vamp Town, and agent Craig Wright with his newly minted partner, Liz Adams, have to retrieve them. 

But, they may have a larger problem. Alexei's malcontent brother Vladimir has had his first taste of sweet, fresh blood in over a century. The renewed strength he feels coursing through his veins has emboldened him to challenge his brother's leadership and escape the confines of his perceived "prison", returning to an unsuspecting world in which vampires are merely fantasy characters that populate horror movies, fantasy books, and folkloric tales.

To combat this renewed threat to humanity, Craig and Liz may have to listen to yet another outrageous proposal from Alexei....
 

©2017 Jeff Seats (P)2019 Jeff Seats

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1