Regular price: $25.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Nicci French, the best-selling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with top-ten best seller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love the central character, psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda the days get longer, the cases darker…. She thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there, or what happened - and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder.

Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime, and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written 12 other best-selling novels, including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.

©2012 Nicci French (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eva
  • Claremont, Australia
  • 12-01-12

so well perfomed, makes up for a complicated story

What did you love best about Tuesday's Gone?

I just love the way Nicci French describes the characters

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The relationship between the inspector and Frieda Klein

Have you listened to any of Beth Chalmers’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I read Blue Monday and found her performance as brilliant as in Tuesday's gone.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just couldn't stop listening

Any additional comments?

Such a meticulous description of live in London

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anet
  • South Africa
  • 10-08-12

Riveting

If you could sum up Tuesday's Gone in three words, what would they be?

Riveting, engaging, empathic

What does Beth Chalmers bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She captures each character's personality perfectly. I could listen to her for hours! Her accents are also very convincing.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

But he's still out there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anne
  • Brisbane, Australia
  • 08-23-12

* More Brilliance! *

Make sure you listen to Blue Monday before listening to this. That had me looking for more and I found Tuesday's Gone.

I felt that some of this one was a little unrealistic in that Frieda Klein does a little too much of the police work. But that's the only negative to this story. Again, you're drawn into the story until the end. It has it's twists like Blue Monday. Characters with their distinct personalities.

Beth Chalmers is an excellent narrator. She gives great expression, and the characters are differentiated very well. Nice smooth listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • jacks247
  • 09-02-12

Painful and boring

The worst book I've downloaded, slow and far fetched... Have you ever heard of a mental Heath specialist who gets a call and goes immediately to help a stranger evn though he didn't want to? No, me either.... I'm giving up, just can't finish it. This is a first... I adore my books and usually choose wisely

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jill
  • 08-15-12

Grisly but enjoyable

A well-read book that is up to the standard that you expect from this duo. I presume the series format of the books has been chosen to allow them to develop characters more deeply than is possible in a one-off. I made the mistake of listening to this without having first read 'Blue Monday' (searched for it as an audio book, but it doesn't seem to be available - a bit odd!). With some series this doesn't matter too much, but you really do need to read these in correct order, or far too much is given away to make the earlier book enjoyable if you read it later. That aside, I enjoyed the story and the reading, and look forward to Wednesday!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lucy
  • 07-21-15

Quite enjoyable

I actually quite enjoyed this book - a bit sceptical after some of the other reviews but I have now listened to all in the series and did enjoy them all. The background follows through the books so probably best to read in order!

Granted they weren't up to the Nesbo or Robotham standards in my eyes but I think Sean Barrett does an excellent job and personally I think he's a very hard narrator to match!

All in all though a good series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 08-26-12

Had its moments, but not many.

My opinion. The scenes and characters were not as well described as they could have been. Characters introduced were not done so very well and as a results left you forgetting them, and not knowing who was being referred to whenever they were mentioned later on. The plot was weak, and the story dragged out - you feel like you're listening to a real-time police enquiry, boring bits included. A different scene and character is described in brief at the beginning of some chapters, which means nothing at the time, and even when you discover what this is about, it's pointless - added nothing except confusion. There were a few parts to this book that were intriguing, but they were quickly over and ended with disappointment. The book didn't draw me in, and I didn't once wan't to keep listening - I just pushed though it. Overall 2 stars from me. I'd recommend The Hunger Games trilogy, Nobody True, and His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Patricia
  • 08-13-12

When's Wednesday coming?

Loved it - great twist - followed on well from first book without too much going over stuff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard da Costa
  • 09-06-18

Gripping and a delight

I have been using audible for a long while now and never felt compelled to write a review before but I have to say this is one of the best books / series I have come across. I bought the 1st in this Frida Klein series as I have enjoyed Nicci French before and then promptly bought the 2nd immediately and now have bought the 3rd straight away. The story, albeit with the occasional narrative ‘stretch’, is gripping, the characters are well thought through and sustain your interest and what a good choice they made in Beth Chalmers as the reader! She really is excellent and I will seek her out for other audio books she may have done! I highly recommend it!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ChrisH
  • 08-21-18

a good reaf

a bit predictable but never the less a good read and it did have a bit of a twist at the end.

on to the next book in the series

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sophocles
  • 08-01-18

Well written but a bit grisly for me

I enjoyed what I listened to, mostly, but I had to stop because there were some vivid descriptions of things that made me feel a bit "yuck". Well written descriptions, but just a bit stomach-turning. Not my thing, so I had to stop!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eileen
  • 04-29-18

re read

just listened to again after first buying it and enjoyed it as much as the first time

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Máiréad
  • 01-01-18

Even Better Than Book One

Friday Klein is developing into a complex and sympathetic person. The book has a great storyline and I found the plot more cohesive than book one. The concept of continuity is particularly appealing and intriguing and I can't wait to listen to the next in the series.






Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • carol
  • 08-10-17

Gripping!

I consider a good book to be one that grips the emotions and brings characters to life. This book made me sad, angry, frustrated,amused, surprised, delighted, fearful and relieved. It is very well written and the characters are terrific. A great read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maggiestampa
  • 05-16-17

Another great episode in this story.

I enjoyed this second book in the Frieda Klein series. I was fully involved the whole way through. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sandra
  • 03-23-17

Growing on me.

This series is growing on me. I found the first book a little slow initially, and it perked up when Joseph entered as a character. This second book was much better. The characters have developed well and are now familiar and engaging. The plot was well developed and the ending begs for the next installment- what happens next?!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maggi
  • 04-27-15

Clever twists and turns

I love Nicci French books & this didn't disappoint even though Frieda Klein series is very different from some of the other novels. Great narrating too with all the different voices.