Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday.

Listen to Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that Louise Penny calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting" - and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018.

Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant - Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house.

The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat....

As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go and another who can't let her live.

Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins.

©2018 Joined-Up Writing (P)2018 WF Howes

Critic Reviews

"[Narrator Beth] Chalmers owns the voice of the controversial and keenly observant psychotherapist Frieda Klein.... Chalmers uses her deep portfolio of British accents to voice men and women good and evil, and gives a Ukrainian accent to Frieda's friend, Joseph. Chalmers's performance keeps the listener engaged through the ups and downs of the plot." (AudioFile)  

What listeners say about Sunday Silence

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    238
  • 4 Stars
    144
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    280
  • 4 Stars
    105
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh So Good! But Will There Be More??

I love this series but we’ve hit the seventh day. There are no more days left…great characters and story line. The narrator is perfect! If you haven’t read the other books in the series, start at the beginning!! You won’t regret it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An appropriate end to a long week

I love the Frieda Klein stories. Frieda irritates the he'll out of me, but I also learn from her. I missed a strong Carlson presence in this book. The transformation of Joseph into a real father made up for it. Complicated characters, and we're left to wonder if Frieda can live with the havoc her obsession with justice wreaks on other lives.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Meh

I just couldn’t get into it It wasn’t worth finishing for me I like the narrators voice she was pretty good

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

It did not really do much for me. Frankly wish I had my credit back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not so good as a stand alone novel

This was my first book by Nicci French. Although it was listed as the7th book in the series, I did not realize it would be better to start from the beginning of the series. Several authors write a number of books using the same characters but they still hold up as individual novels. This book took me a couple hours to get the characters straight as there are a few of them. Once I had that figured out the story was more interesting but I was let down by the ending. From what I can tell this is the last book of the series??? However, I really do not feel the complete story was wrapped up. There are still BIG quested that have been unanswered. I do not recommend this as a stand alone book and if this truly is the the last book in the series I would be extremely disappointed with the conclusion of the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite

Loved every word. The narrator is amazing. The conclusions are always a surprise. The characters have tremendous depth.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope there will be another Frieda Klien book!!

I don't want to be left hanging! such a good book to listen to on my commute.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I really love this series..they are all like family the narration is excellent as well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

And more to come

Love a story that doesn't fully resolve. But could it have ended any other way? Brilliant.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

original approach to crime

this book series is really intriguing because it gives a different perspective to crime a more psychological one and maybe a more true one