Your audiobook is waiting…

Sunday Silence

A Novel
Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
Series: A Frieda Klein Mystery, Book 7
Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (412 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday.

Listen to Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that Louise Penny calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting" - and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018.

Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant - Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house.

The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat....

As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go and another who can't let her live.

Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins.

©2018 Joined-Up Writing (P)2018 WF Howes

Critic Reviews

"[Narrator Beth] Chalmers owns the voice of the controversial and keenly observant psychotherapist Frieda Klein.... Chalmers uses her deep portfolio of British accents to voice men and women good and evil, and gives a Ukrainian accent to Frieda's friend, Joseph. Chalmers's performance keeps the listener engaged through the ups and downs of the plot." (AudioFile)  

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    133
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    255
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh So Good! But Will There Be More??

I love this series but we’ve hit the seventh day. There are no more days left…great characters and story line. The narrator is perfect! If you haven’t read the other books in the series, start at the beginning!! You won’t regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An appropriate end to a long week

I love the Frieda Klein stories. Frieda irritates the he'll out of me, but I also learn from her. I missed a strong Carlson presence in this book. The transformation of Joseph into a real father made up for it. Complicated characters, and we're left to wonder if Frieda can live with the havoc her obsession with justice wreaks on other lives.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite

Loved every word. The narrator is amazing. The conclusions are always a surprise. The characters have tremendous depth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope there will be another Frieda Klien book!!

I don't want to be left hanging! such a good book to listen to on my commute.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I really love this series..they are all like family the narration is excellent as well

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

And more to come

Love a story that doesn't fully resolve. But could it have ended any other way? Brilliant.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

original approach to crime

this book series is really intriguing because it gives a different perspective to crime a more psychological one and maybe a more true one

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Laura
  • Columbus, Ohio, United States
  • 12-09-18

Meh

It did not really do much for me. Frankly wish I had my credit back.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not so good as a stand alone novel

This was my first book by Nicci French. Although it was listed as the7th book in the series, I did not realize it would be better to start from the beginning of the series. Several authors write a number of books using the same characters but they still hold up as individual novels. This book took me a couple hours to get the characters straight as there are a few of them. Once I had that figured out the story was more interesting but I was let down by the ending. From what I can tell this is the last book of the series??? However, I really do not feel the complete story was wrapped up. There are still BIG quested that have been unanswered. I do not recommend this as a stand alone book and if this truly is the the last book in the series I would be extremely disappointed with the conclusion of the series.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

waste of time

I really tried hard to get through this book but I found it hard to follow, with ponderous and stilted characters. Somewhere in there was a plot but it kept getting sidelined by textbook psychology. Pretty bad...