The Woman in the Lake

Series: Timeslip, Book 3
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (66 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge - part history, part mystery - for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine

London, 1765

Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it, its shimmering beauty tainted by the actions of her brutal husband the night before.

Three months later, Lord Gerard stands at the shoreline of the lake, looking down at a woman wearing the golden gown. As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, it’s clear this was not his intended victim…

250 Years Later…

When a gown she stole from a historic home as a child is mysteriously returned to Fenella Brightwell, it begins to possess her in exactly the same way that it did as a girl. Soon the fragile new life Fen has created for herself away from her abusive ex-husband is threatened at its foundations by the gown’s power over her until she can't tell what is real and what is imaginary.

As Fen uncovers more about the gown and Isabella’s story, she begins to see the parallels with her own life. When each piece of history is revealed, the gown - and its past - seems to possess her more and more, culminating in a dramatic revelation set to destroy her sanity.

©2019 Nicola Cornick (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers, Limited

What listeners say about The Woman in the Lake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed it!

This book was easy to listen to and the narrators were great, I truly enjoyed it. It was a good escape from real life - takes you back in time and gives you a bit of history.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't waste your money

This novel is poorly executed. I loved the concept but disliked the way its written. Clumsy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good read.

I enjoyed the story and especially liked the narrators. I wish the author would use a different word than said when she’s writing dialogue.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liv
  • Liv
  • 06-12-20

Absolutely drudge. Couldn't even finish it.

Narration was okay, though there was almost no distinction between characters, but the story was terrible. Slow and boring, with underdeveloped and unlikable characters. Took me months to get through most of it. I was determined to finish, but stopped completely with about 2 hours to go. So terrible it wasn't worth finishing.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vivienne Burke
  • Vivienne Burke
  • 04-14-19

The woman in the lake

Not really my thing , I have read much better. Some of the plot I found to be weak . Think I may give the rest of the authors books a miss.