Your audiobook is waiting…

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

Narrated by: Johnathan McClain
Length: 7 hrs and 33 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (67 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Deep, understated, and wise, this engaging YA novel, winner of the Governor General's Award in Canada, is about more than the tough issue of teens dealing with obsessive-compulsive order. It also has romance, and a whodunit element that will keep listeners guessing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park!

Adam Spencer Ross is almost 15, and he's got his hands full confronting the everyday problems that come with having divorced parents and a stepsibling. Add to that his obsessive-compulsive disorder and it's just about impossible for him to imagine ever falling in love. Adam's life changes, however, the instant he meets Robyn Plummer: He is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. But is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?

Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness, and healing.

©2015 Teresa Toten (P)2015 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • whoa!
  • North Carolinaa
  • 03-06-16

Decent book.

It's a nice little book about a boy battling OCD. It wasn't mind-blowing, but I don't regret spending a credit on it. I, too, have a form of OCD. It can be debilitating at times, and they speak with knowledge on the subject.
It's kind of a "insta-love" story. But it doesn't completely focus on that. Everything wraps up nicely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A heartbreaking, stunning, beautiful narration.

A YA book for our times. A story that deals with many issues of our time and a loving narration to match.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Book!!

I took a chance on this book and I'm SO glad I did! It was just wonderful. I loved Adam and his heart. He tried so hard to help EVERYONE. I thought the *twist* was good too, I actually didn't see it coming. It's a friendship story, a love story and a beautiful coming of age story. And it made me cry. Great story, great narration!! I would recommend this book to everyone!
#deepfriendship #mentalheath #heartfelt #underdog#inspiring
#sweepstakes