The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom

Narrated by: Marian Hussey
Length: 11 hrs and 3 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Eliza Bloom. She likes to live life by the rules: long, blue skirt on Thursdays; dinner with mother on Fridays; and if someone tells you a Valentine should be anonymous, give your new husband a blank card. Nothing is out of place in her ordered life....

But last night, her teenage daughter found something in a hidden shoebox that no one was supposed to see and started asking questions...questions that might just change everything in Eliza’s carefully constructed world.

Join Eliza as she tells you how to run away with the love of your life (quite fast actually, as your family are coming after you), how to make your grandfather happy (this might involve a little bit of lying), how to let someone you love go (actually, this never gets easier), and how (now, this is a bad idea) to keep secrets from your new husband.

The only way to truly live is to learn how to open your heart.

An uplifting and heartbreaking novel about finding yourself, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, The Keeper of Lost Things, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry.  

©2018 Beth Miller (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful and beautifully read.

A delightful book. Just enough tension but life affirming and optimistic. A fascinating inshiggt into a closed (Orthodox Jewish) world too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pixie81
  • Pixie81
  • 05-03-20

Loved this so much!

It's so difficult to find a book with a storyline that hasn't been done to death. After a spell of audiobooks I returned without getting past the first chapter or two I happened upon this and I am SO glad. Absolutely loved every minute of it, it's made the last two days of lockdown enjoyable! Sad, funny, interesting and so many other words describe this book. Definitely recommend and I'll be looking out for more by the author and the narrator (who was just fantastic!)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-03-19

lovely story with good narration.

Beth Miller has really captured what it means to move between 2 completely different social worlds- orthodox Judaism and 'the real world' This a talented writer with real heart and I look forward to her next novel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Marchi
  • Angela Marchi
  • 09-20-20

Partly good. partly awful

I liked the concept of this book and the detail around the Orthodox Jewish liftstyle. However Elaza's relationship with Alex was awful. The bits about 'the real world' were unrealistic and felt very flat. Alex was incredibly controlling and it felt wrong that he got her to do things she wasn't comfortable with, especially as the book portrayed that his behaviour was acceptable!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sair0075
  • Sair0075
  • 08-29-20

Simply Sweet

I feel as though I've flown through this book. It's an interesting family dynamic and not what I was expecting. It's opened my eyes to another culture (minimally of course) but brilliantly. It goes to show there are all types of people in the world and it's just amazing. The story flows nicely and you really feel what the characters are going through.